Hampshire v Worcestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueDean Park, Bournemouth on 23rd, 25th, 26th August 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 4 wickets
PointsHampshire 18 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Worcestershire 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresDJ Dennis, PB Wight
ScorersVH Isaacs (Hampshire), JW Sewter (Worcestershire)
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 88/4 (Tremlett 27*, Terry 25*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 2/0 (Smith 0*, Tremlett 2*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Pocock b Stevenson12     
JA Ormrodnot out126     
PA Nealec Parks b Marshall56     
Younis Ahmedb Marshall0     
EJO Hemsleyc Pocock b Marshall0     
DN Patelb Stevenson0     
+PB Fisherc Marshall b Stevenson0     
JD Inchmorelbw b Stevenson0     
HL Alleynec Southern b Stevenson1     
*N Giffordlbw b Tremlett11     
AP Pridgeonb Marshall1     
Extras(8 lb, 4 nb)12
Total(all out, 84 overs)219
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-139, 3-139, 4-145, 5-146, 6-164, 7-164, 8-170, 9-192, 10-219 (84 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall28   9534--
Stevenson23   5665--
Tremlett19   3521--
Bailey2   090--
Southern12   1270--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TM Tremlettc Fisher b Pridgeon76     
CL Smithb Alleyne15     
MCJ Nicholaslbw b Alleyne0     
DR Turnerc Fisher b Pridgeon10     
*NEJ Pocockb Pridgeon0     
VP Terrylbw b Alleyne31     
MD Marshallc Turner b Alleyne4     
+RJ Parksc Fisher b Alleyne31     
JW Southernc Gifford b Pridgeon5     
MJ Baileynot out21     
K Stevensonc Patel b Gifford11     
Extras(17 b, 6 lb, 4 nb, 5 w)32
Total(all out, 93.4 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-36, 3-52, 4-52, 5-104, 6-108, 7-165, 8-180, 9-198, 10-236 (93.4 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alleyne29   8725--
Inchmore17   0540--
Pridgeon20   8294--
Patel1   080--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Smith b Stevenson53     
JA Ormrodc Marshall b Stevenson2     
PA Nealest Parks b Southern40     
Younis Ahmedc Smith b Marshall23     
EJO Hemsleyst Parks b Southern0     
DN Patelb Marshall9     
+PB Fishernot out10     
JD Inchmorelbw b Marshall2     
HL Alleyneb Marshall0     
*N Giffordb Marshall0     
AP Pridgeonc Marshall b Southern7     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 52.4 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-94, 3-111, 4-111, 5-131, 6-132, 7-134, 8-140, 9-140, 10-155 (52.4 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall19   4395--
Stevenson10   2392--
Tremlett3   0160--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TM Tremlettnot out67     
CL Smithc Fisher b Alleyne17     
MCJ Nicholasc Fisher b Alleyne7     
DR Turnerb Gifford1     
*NEJ Pocockb Gifford20     
VP Terryc Fisher b Gifford6     
MD Marshallc Turner b Hemsley10     
+RJ Parksnot out6     
JW Southerndid not bat      
MJ Baileydid not bat      
K Stevensondid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 4 w)8
Total(6 wickets, 59.2 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-48, 2-60, 3-61, 4-99, 5-119, 6-136
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alleyne12   2372--
Pridgeon11   4220--
Gifford24   6423--
Patel6   2150--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> JA Ormrod (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 19
--> VP Terry (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in County Championship matches
--> VP Terry (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in First-Class matches
--> MD Marshall achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Worcestershire second innings (previous best was 5-56)
--> HL Alleyne reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Hampshire second innings
--> N Gifford reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Hampshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive