Malaysia causes first major upset in Under-19 World Cup
by International Cricket Council

Scorecard:Bangladesh Under-19s v Ireland Under-19s, Malaysia Under-19s v Zimbabwe Under-19s, Namibia Under-19s v Sri Lanka Under-19s, Papua New Guinea Under-19s v West Indies Under-19s
Event:ICC Under-19 World Cup 2007/08

DateLine: 20th February 2008


Steven Jacobs hits century as West Indies beats PNG; Sri Lanka and Bangladesh qualify for Super League


Malaysia caused the first major upset of the ICC U/19 Cricket World Cup when it defeated Zimbabwe by 70 runs at the MPTI ground in southern Malaysia.


Malaysia, playing in its first World Cup, scored 194-8 in 50 overs and then bowled out Zimbabwe for 124 in 38.4 overs. The defeat ended Zimbabwe’s hopes of reaching the Super League but kept Malaysia in the hunt for a place in the next round.


However, in its last league match on Thursday at the same venue, Malaysia will have to beat New Zealand which also has two points from two matches. From Group A, two-time champion Pakistan is already through to the Super League after winning both its games and plays Zimbabwe in its last first round match on Friday.


The star of Malaysia’s historic victory was its captain Ahmad Faiz who scored a stylish 50 off 77 balls that included four fours and a six. Faiz had walked on to the pitch after the home team, which was put into bat, was reduced to 33-2 in 15 overs.


However, Faiz in association with Muhammad Faizal repaired the damage by adding 70 runs for the third wicket. The partnership ended when Faizal departed after scoring 30. He was soon followed by Faiz as Malaysia lost its way and from 103-2 was dismissed for 194.


Shahid Aslan, batting at No 6, however, held the lower middle-order together and ensured that Malaysia reached a score which was potentially defendable. Aslan remained undefeated on 40 from 42 balls with four boundaries.


Zimbabwe, in turn, was never in the hunt after losing half the side for 77 runs by the halfway stage. The innings was finally terminated in the 38th over at the score of 124 when last man Confidence Mutombodzi became Aslan’s third victim.


Aslan finished with 3-41 to complete a good day’s effort that earned him a well deserved Man of the Match award.


Elsewhere, Steven Jacobs became the second century-maker of the event after Australia’s Michael Hill as the West Indies beat Papua New Guinea by 176 runs in a Group B action. Jacobs’ attractive 86-ball 101 contained 11 fours and two sixes as West Indies posted 319 in 49.4 overs.


PNG, in turn, was bowled out for 143 in 37.1 overs with fast bowler Jason Dawes grabbing 4-25 and leg spinner Nikrumah Bonner claiming 3-15.


The West Indies will now face India on Friday in a match that it not only needs to win but by a handsome margin to improve its net run-rate as South Africa is likely to boost its net run-rate on Thursday when it lock horns with PNG. Both West Indies and South Africa have two points from two matches with India already through to the next round after winning both its matches.


Sri Lanka also had a comfortable sailing at the University Sains ground in Penang where it defeated Namibia by 163 runs. The victory meant Sri Lanka and Australia qualifying for Super League from Group C with their match on Friday to decide who tops the group.


Lahiru Thirimanne top scored with 68 and Roshane Silva chipped in with an unbeaten 51 as Sri Lanka, electing to bat first, scored 247-7. Namibia, in reply, was bowled out for 84 with Sachith Pathirana finishing as pick of the bowlers with 4-31.


At Bayuemas Oval in Kuala Lumpur, Bangladesh joined England in the Super League from Group D when it defeated Ireland by eight wickets.


Mohammad Mahmudul Hasan took 4-17 as Ireland was dismissed for 123 in 43.4 overs and opener Ashraful Hossain stroked a fine 71 not out with 14 boundaries as Bangladesh achieved victory in 22.3 overs.

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2008 International Cricket Council)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive