Lancashire v Essex
CricInfo Championship 2001 (Division 1)
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 19th, 20th, 21st, 22nd June 2001 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 9 wickets
PointsLancashire 19 (Batting 4, Bowling 3); Essex 3 (Batting 1, Bowling 2)
UmpiresNGC Cowley, AA Jones
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 230/5 (Atherton 125*, Hegg 35*; 94 overs)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 101/4 (Law 47*, Peters 2*; 54 overs)
Close of play day 3Essex (2) 160/4 (Law 60*, Peters 9*; 62 overs)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Athertonc Law b Davies16034841523- 
MJ Chiltonc Hyam b Anderson959731- 
*JP Crawleyb Cowan12226-- 
A Flintoffc Law b Such1842473- 
NH Fairbrotherc Law b Such1942493- 
JC Scuderilbw b Davies1130311- 
+WK Heggc Hyam b Cowan133242289151 
G Chapplec Grayson b Davies12172111 
PJ Martinc Cowan b Such1931264- 
G Keedynot out1764683- 
M Muralitharanb Cowan14883- 
Extras(5 b, 7 lb, 2 nb, 4 w)18
Total(all out, 150.4 overs)431
Fall of wickets:
1-31 (Chilton), 2-49 (Crawley), 3-84 (Flintoff), 4-129 (Fairbrother), 5-156 (Scuderi), 6-299 (Atherton), 7-327 (Chapple), 8-364 (Martin), 9-409 (Hegg), 10-431 (Muralitharan)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Irani21   84201-
Anderson22   65911-
Such45   121243--
Davies34   41213--
Grayson3   180--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Clintonc Fairbrother b Muralitharan251081352- 
AP Graysonb Martin527301- 
DDJ Robinsonlbw b Muralitharan21925-- 
SG Lawnot out11632829715- 
*RC Iranic and b Keedy725281- 
SD Petersb Keedy53730-- 
+BJ Hyamc Fairbrother b Muralitharan055-- 
RSG Andersonc Fairbrother b Muralitharan1037442- 
AP Cowanc Keedy b Muralitharan104246-1 
MK Daviesb Muralitharan74037-- 
PM Suchc Flintoff b Chapple715171- 
Extras(26 b, 6 lb)32
Total(all out, 113.5 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Grayson), 2-22 (Robinson), 3-76 (Clinton), 4-95 (Irani), 5-107 (Peters), 6-108 (Hyam), 7-146 (Anderson), 8-182 (Cowan), 9-207 (Davies), 10-226 (Such)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin14   6371--
Muralitharan48   22536--
Keedy38   13722--
Flintoff3   150--

Essex second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Clintonc Flintoff b Chapple381051245- 
AP Graysonc Hegg b Chapple361041122- 
DDJ Robinsonc Martin b Chapple11820-- 
SG Lawnot out123184216143 
*RC Iranic Flintoff b Muralitharan11715-- 
SD Petersc Flintoff b Muralitharan1884892- 
+BJ Hyamb Muralitharan41821-- 
RSG Andersonlbw b Muralitharan31014-- 
AP Cowanrun out032-- 
MK Daviesb Martin53230-- 
PM Suchc Keedy b Martin925222- 
Extras(13 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)19
Total(all out, 99.5 overs)257
Fall of wickets:
1-81 (Grayson), 2-86 (Clinton), 3-89 (Robinson), 4-116 (Irani), 5-190 (Peters), 6-211 (Hyam), 7-223 (Anderson), 8-224 (Cowan), 9-237 (Davies), 10-257 (Such)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Chapple16   4553--
Muralitharan39   14704-1
Flintoff10   0240--
Keedy22   4520--
Scuderi1   040--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Athertonnot out2433403- 
MJ Chiltonlbw b Irani044-- 
*JP Crawleynot out2130352- 
NH Fairbrotherdid not bat      
A Flintoffdid not bat      
JC Scuderidid not bat      
+WK Heggdid not bat      
G Chappledid not bat      
PJ Martindid not bat      
G Keedydid not bat      
M Muralitharandid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 4 nb)8
Total(1 wicket, 10.5 overs)53
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Chilton)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cowan3   0140--
Irani5   1251-2

--> Lancashire score at 130 overs in the first innings was 355-7
--> WK Hegg (1) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> M Muralitharan (1) equalled his previous highest score of 14 in County Championship matches
--> SG Law (1) passed 17000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 98
--> JP Crawley (2) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive