Transvaal v Eastern Province
SAB Currie Cup 1973/74 (Section A)
VenueNew Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 25th, 26th, 28th January 1974 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEastern Province won the toss and decided to field
ResultTransvaal won by 40 runs
PointsTransvaal 18 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Eastern Province 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3)
UmpiresHC Kidson, OR Schoof
Close of play day 1
Close of play day 2Transvaal (2) 19/2

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*A Bacherlbw b Wilkins118     
BF Bathb Wilkins20     
RK Muzzellb Thomas34     
+BL Irvinec Bezuidenhout b Thomas5     
NG Featherstonec Colling b Thomas3     
KA McKenzierun out19     
CEB Ricec Bezuidenhout b Brickett57     
JPD Flanaganc Wilkins b Brickett26     
PD de Vaalnot out16     
D Mackay-Coghillb Brickett0     
DR Neilsonlbw b Brickett6     
Extras(8 lb, 10 nb, 1 w)19
Total(all out, 98 overs)323
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-120, 3-127, 4-131, 5-174, 6-241, 7-292, 8-315, 9-315, 10-323 (98 ov)
Eastern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas23   2873--
Brickett24   6684--
Wilkins26   7632--
Reid14   1490--
Wilmot6   1180--
Armitage5   0190--

Eastern Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SJ Bezuidenhoutc Bath b Mackay-Coghill63     
AM Shortlbw b Rice22     
DG Bevanc Mackay-Coghill b Rice8     
*RG Pollockc Flanagan b Neilson35     
CP Wilkinsc Bacher b Mackay-Coghill1     
AL Wilmotb Neilson55     
RLS Armitagenot out22     
DJ Brickettc Featherstone b Neilson8     
KP Reidb Rice0     
+RK Collingc Mackay-Coghill b Rice0     
DR Thomasc Irvine b Neilson3     
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 12 nb, 1 w)23
Total(all out, 89.1 overs)240
Fall of wickets:
1-81, 2-96, 3-103, 4-108, 5-159, 6-221, 7-235, 8-235, 9-235, 10-240 (89.1 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mackay-Coghill24   9652--
Flanagan11   4360--
de Vaal4   290--
Rice25   10504--
Bath3   160--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*A Bacherb Reid16     
BF Bathb Reid54     
RK Muzzellc Colling b Brickett1     
+BL Irvinec Bevan b Thomas13     
NG Featherstonelbw b Brickett1     
KA McKenziec sub b Reid19     
CEB Ricec Colling b Reid15     
JPD Flanaganlbw b Reid8     
PD de Vaalnot out15     
DR Neilsonnot out12     
D Mackay-Coghilldid not bat      
Extras(9 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)14
Total(8 wickets, declared, 47.3 overs)168
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-18, 3-31, 4-68, 5-100, 6-115, 7-128, 8-140
Eastern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas7   0351--
Wilkins10   0390--
Reid16   2485--

Eastern Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SJ Bezuidenhoutc Irvine b Flanagan24     
AM Shortc McKenzie b Flanagan74     
DG Bevanb Flanagan3     
*RG Pollockb Rice3     
CP Wilkinsc Irvine b Rice4     
AL Wilmotc Irvine b Mackay-Coghill1     
RLS Armitagec Rice b Flanagan22     
DJ Brickettlbw b Flanagan3     
KP Reidc Irvine b Mackay-Coghill55     
+RK Collingc Featherstone b Neilson10     
DR Thomasnot out2     
Extras(5 lb, 5 nb)10
Total(all out, 67.4 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-50, 3-59, 4-63, 5-80, 6-137, 7-141, 8-148, 9-182, 10-211 (67.4 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Neilson12   2351--
Flanagan14   4415--
de Vaal8   660--
Rice18   5652--
Featherstone1   060--

--> KA McKenzie (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> SJ Bezuidenhout (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 32
--> RG Pollock (1) passed 11000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 28
--> RLS Armitage made his debut in first-class matches
--> BF Bath (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> KP Reid (2) passed his previous highest score of 50 in first-class matches
--> DR Thomas achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Transvaal first innings (previous best was 2-31)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive