Leicestershire v Essex
County Championship 1970
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 24th, 25th, 26th June 1970 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 6 (Batting 1, Bowling 5); Essex 6 (Batting 1, Bowling 5)
UmpiresLH Gray, GH Pope
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 175 all out
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 156/2 (Haywood 60*, Inman 74*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonb Boyce10      
PR Haywoodc Taylor b Boyce13      
PT Marnerc East b Edmeades25      
CC Inmanc Taylor b Turner13      
BJ Boothb Boyce24      
*R Illingworthc Presland b Boyce24      
+RW Tolchardb Acfield12      
J Birkenshawc Taylor b Acfield13      
JF Steelec Presland b Boyce14      
GD McKenziest Taylor b Hobbs9      
PM Stringernot out0      
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 11 nb)18
Total(all out, 77 overs)175
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-52, 3-72, 4-76, 5-114, 6-133, 7-141, 8-154, 9-175, 10-175 (77 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyce26   7775--
Turner20   7391--
Edmeades8   1161--
Acfield22   11252--
Hobbs1   101--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BEA Edmeadesc Inman b Stringer15      
*+B Taylorc Tolchard b Stringer28      
GJ Savillerun out0      
KWR Fletcherst Tolchard b Illingworth42      
G Barkerc Tolchard b McKenzie1      
KD Boycec Stringer b McKenzie52      
S Turnerc Birkenshaw b McKenzie0      
ER Preslandc Birkenshaw b McKenzie17      
RNS Hobbsb Illingworth9      
RE Eastrun out4      
DL Acfieldnot out2      
Extras(3 lb, 9 nb)12
Total(all out, 55.3 overs)182
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-44, 3-47, 4-50, 5-126, 6-132, 7-151, 8-170, 9-178, 10-182 (55.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie18   5584--
Steele9   3280--
Illingworth12   2272--
Marner5   1120--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Edmeades b Boyce1      
PR Haywoodlbw b Acfield62      
PT Marnerc Boyce b Hobbs2      
CC Inmanc Barker b Acfield80      
BJ Boothst Taylor b Hobbs13      
*R Illingworthlbw b Turner23      
+RW Tolchardst Taylor b Hobbs35      
J Birkenshawc Taylor b Turner8      
GD McKenziec East b Hobbs7      
JF Steelenot out0      
PM Stringerc Taylor b Turner0      
Extras(13 b, 10 lb, 8 nb)31
Total(all out, 80.2 overs)262
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-27, 3-162, 4-167, 5-189, 6-247, 7-247, 8-260, 9-262, 10-262 (80.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyce19   0811--
Acfield14   2332--
Hobbs21   7524--
East4   0110--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BEA Edmeadesc Steele b Stringer17      
*+B Taylorc Stringer b McKenzie12      
GJ Savillenot out4      
KWR Fletcherc Marner b McKenzie63      
G Barkerc Booth b Steele37      
KD Boycec Booth b Steele0      
S Turnerc Tolchard b McKenzie14      
ER Preslandb McKenzie5      
RNS Hobbsc Steele b Birkenshaw8      
RE Eastb Birkenshaw3      
DL Acfieldnot out0      
Extras(4 lb, 7 nb)11
Total(9 wickets, 78 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-29, 3-124, 4-158, 5-158, 6-158, 7-159, 8-170, 9-174
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie22   8504--
Stringer8   1261--
Steele24   10512--
Illingworth7   2140--
Birkenshaw17   7222--

--> KWR Fletcher (1) passed 13000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 8
--> PR Haywood (2) passed his previous highest score of 36 in County Championship matches
--> PR Haywood (2) passed his previous highest score of 36 in first-class matches
--> G Barker (2) passed 21500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> KD Boyce reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> RNS Hobbs reached 700 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> KD Boyce reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> PM Stringer reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive