Yorkshire v Hampshire
County Championship 1968
VenueSt George's Road, Harrogate on 4th, 6th, 7th May 1968 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsYorkshire 5 (Bowling 5); Hampshire 1 (Bowling 1)
UmpiresR Aspinall, A Gaskell
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 96/6 (Richards 55*, Timms 6*)
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (1) 41/2 (Padgett 12*, Hampshire 6*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RE Marshallc Binks b Trueman0     
BL Reedc Binks b Trueman3     
PJ Sainsburyb Illingworth18     
BA Richardsc Sharpe b Wilson70     
DR Turnerc Close b Illingworth7     
RMC Gilliatrun out2     
KJ Wheatleyc Close b Illingworth3     
+BSV Timmsc Binks b Close9     
D Shackletonc Hampshire b Wilson3     
DW Whitec Close b Wilson2     
RMH Cottamnot out3     
Extras(1 nb, 1 w)2
Total(all out, 75 overs)122
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-5, 3-38, 4-58, 5-60, 6-71, 7-102, 8-114, 9-119, 10-122 (75 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trueman9   2182--
Nicholson20   9280--
Close11   7141--
Illingworth19   6343--
Wilson15   4213--
Boycott1   050--

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Boycottc White b Cottam5     
PJ Sharpec and b Cottam18     
DEV Padgettnot out12     
JH Hampshirenot out6     
K Taylordid not bat      
*DB Closedid not bat      
R Illingworthdid not bat      
+JG Binksdid not bat      
D Wilsondid not bat      
FS Truemandid not bat      
AG Nicholsondid not bat      
Total(2 wickets, 28 overs)41
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-28
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shackleton14   7150--
White7   3130--
Cottam7   3132--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> BA Richards (1) passed his previous highest score of 53 in County Championship matches
--> RMH Cottam reached 300 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Yorkshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive