Northamptonshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1952
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 2nd, 4th, 5th August 1952 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNorthamptonshire 0; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresF Chester, H Elliott
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 336/6 (Walsh 5*, Sargent 2*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (1) 263/4 (Oldfield 54*, Barrick 22*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Lesterc Livingston b Tribe46     
GA Smithsonb Nutter3     
LA Spencec Tribe b Clarke14     
*CH Palmerc and b Brown96     
VE Jacksonc Oldfield b Tribe54     
VS Mundenb Clarke4     
JE Walshc Brown b Tribe22     
MAJ Sargentc Reynolds b Brown21     
+J Firthnot out27     
CT Spencerb Nutter18     
TJ Goodwindid not bat      
Extras(19 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)23
Total(9 wickets, declared, 141.1 overs)328
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-38, 3-126, 4-196, 5-209, 6-227, 7-262, 8-295, 9-328 (141.1 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clarke39   111112--
Brown30   15392--
Barrick3   250--
Tribe38   13703--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Brookesb Walsh65     
V Broderickc Jackson b Walsh51     
L Livingstonc Spence b Walsh36     
N Oldfieldnot out54     
F Jakemanb Spencer26     
DW Barricknot out22     
*FR Browndid not bat      
GE Tribedid not bat      
+BL Reynoldsdid not bat      
AE Nutterdid not bat      
RW Clarkedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(4 wickets, 88 overs)263
Fall of wickets:
1-101, 2-153, 3-162, 4-219
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Goodwin11   2390--
Spencer12   1451--
Palmer11   4190--
Walsh29   51033--
Jackson24   13400--
Munden1   080--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> LA Spence (1) passed his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> LA Spence (1) passed his previous highest score of 12 in County Championship matches
--> JE Walsh (1) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive