Muslims v The Rest
Bombay Pentangular Tournament 1940/41 (Final)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 24th, 25th, 26th, 27th December 1940 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossThe Rest won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMuslims won by 7 wickets
UmpiresHD Billimoria, JR Patel
Close of play day 1Muslims (1) 75/1 (Kadri 26*, Mushtaq Ali 42*)
Close of play day 2Muslims (1) 377/9 (Amir Elahi 10*, Masood Salahuddin 1*)
Close of play day 3Muslims (2) 18/2 (Nasiruddin 1*)

The Rest first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JO Gonsalvesb Saeed Ahmed16     
+MB Cohenlbw b Saeed Ahmed38     
BP Kadamb Masood Salahuddin21     
SR Arolkarst Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi15     
WL Mascarenhasc Abbas Khan b Amir Elahi0     
VS Hazarest Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi2     
*JG Harrisc Masood Salahuddin b Amir Elahi82     
AB Fernandesst Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi0     
PP Fernandeslbw b Amir Elahi13     
E Alexanderc Sheikh b Amir Elahi0     
AK Bhaleraonot out0     
Extras(12 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)15
Total(all out, 73.4 overs)202
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (Gonsalves), 2-76 (Cohen), 3-95 (Arolkar), 4-95 (Mascarenhas), 5-98 (Hazare), 6-121 (Kadam), 7-126 (AB Fernandes), 8-166 (PP Fernandes), 9-192 (Alexander), 10-202 (Harris, 73.4 ov)
Muslims bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Saeed Ahmed24   7292--
Masood Salahuddin14   2441--
Amir Elahi27.43887--
Sheikh5   0140--
Mushtaq Ali3   0120--

Muslims first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
YE Sheikhst Cohen b Bhalerao1     
SM Kadrib Harris26     
S Mushtaq Alic Mascarenhas b Bhalerao110     
*S Wazir Alib Alexander59     
KC Ibrahimlbw b Harris17     
SM Nasiruddinc Alexander b Hazare44     
+Dilawar Hussainlbw b Harris54     
Abbas Khanb Hazare37     
Saeed Ahmedrun out2     
Amir Elahinot out10     
Masood Salahuddinlbw b Harris5     
Extras(8 lb, 8 nb)16
Total(all out, 139 overs)381
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Sheikh), 2-83 (Kadri), 3-193 (Mushtaq Ali), 4-204 (Wazir Ali), 5-228 (Ibrahim), 6-291 (Nasiruddin), 7-361 (Abbas Khan), 8-363 (Dilawar Hussain), 9-363 (Saeed Ahmed), 10-381 (Masood Salahuddin, 139 ov)
The Rest bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alexander21   7551--
Hazare40   8812--
Bhalerao22   1892--
Harris26   8404--
Arolkar24   2740--
Mascarenhas6   1260--

The Rest second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JO Gonsalvesc Masood Salahuddin b Amir Elahi26     
E Alexanderlbw b Amir Elahi26     
+MB Cohenc Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi24     
VS Hazarest Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi17     
BP Kadamb Amir Elahi4     
*JG Harrisnot out12     
PP Fernandeslbw b Saeed Ahmed43     
SR Arolkarst Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi1     
WL Mascarenhasb Saeed Ahmed49     
AB Fernandesb Saeed Ahmed9     
AK Bhaleraost Dilawar Hussain b Amir Elahi0     
Extras(3 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)15
Total(all out, 79.1 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-47 (Gonsalves), 2-64 (Alexander), 3-96 (Cohen), 4-103 (Hazare), 5-112 (Kadam), 6-130 (Arolkar), 7-188 (PP Fernandes), 8-214 (AB Fernandes), 9-223 (Mascarenhas), 10-226 (Bhalerao, 79.1 ov)
Muslims bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Saeed Ahmed26   13343--
Masood Salahuddin12   0410--
Ibrahim3   300--
Sheikh7   1290--
Amir Elahi30.141047--
Wazir Ali1   030--

Muslims second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*S Wazir Alib Hazare7     
SM Kadric Gonsalves b Hazare10     
SM Nasiruddinst Cohen b Bhalerao10     
KC Ibrahimnot out16     
Masood Salahuddinnot out3     
YE Sheikhdid not bat      
S Mushtaq Alidid not bat      
+Dilawar Hussaindid not bat      
Abbas Khandid not bat      
Saeed Ahmeddid not bat      
Amir Elahidid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 nb)2
Total(3 wickets, 24.5 overs)48
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Wazir Ali), 2-18 (Kadri), 3-45 (Nasiruddin)
The Rest bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alexander7   2150--
Hazare11   6152--
Harris1   100--
Arolkar2   090--

--> MB Cohen (1) passed his previous highest score of 29 in first-class matches
--> BP Kadam (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in first-class matches
--> S Mushtaq Ali (1) 100 in 140 minutes with 8 fours and 1 six
--> PP Fernandes (2) passed his previous highest score of 21 in first-class matches
--> JG Harris retired ill in the The Rest second innings having scored 8 (team score 129/5) - he returned when the score was 214/8





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive