Nottinghamshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1938
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 6th, 7th, 8th July 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresE Robinson, JA Smart
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 427/9 (Woodhead 2*, Jepson 1*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (1) 452/9 (Woodhead 18*, Jepson 8*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonb Sperry1      
CB Harrisc Armstrong b Geary94      
J Knowlesc Smith b Walsh42      
GV Gunnc Dempster b Thursting184      
*GFH Heanelbw b Geary3      
D Joneslbw b Smith12      
FH Winrowc Geary b Smith0      
+CRN Maxwellc and b Geary29      
W Voceb Smith52      
FG Woodheadnot out18      
A Jepsonnot out8      
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)9
Total(9 wickets, declared, 151.2 overs)452
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-87, 3-200, 4-212, 5-257, 6-257, 7-313, 8-423, 9-423
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith48   19973--
Walsh42   51311--
Geary29   4893--
Thursting11   1571--
Armstrong3   0120--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CS Dempsterdid not bat      
JE Walshdid not bat      
GL Berrydid not bat      
NF Armstrongdid not bat      
GS Watsondid not bat      
M Tompkindid not bat      
G Gearydid not bat      
LD Thurstingdid not bat      
+GO Dawkesdid not bat      
HA Smithdid not bat      
J Sperrydid not bat      

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> GV Gunn (1) passed his previous highest score of 147 in County Championship matches
--> GV Gunn (1) passed his previous highest score of 149 in first-class matches
--> G Geary reached 2050 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings

Gunn made the highest individual score for Nottinghamshire in 1938, 184, twenty-one 4's, in 255 minutes.
There was only 30 minutes play on Day 2 and none on the third.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive