Preview: 2nd T20, 23 Dec 2012
by Asher Wilson

Scorecard:South Africa v New Zealand
Event:New Zealand in South Africa 2012/13

DateLine: 23rd December 2012


South Africa v New Zealand
2nd T20I 2012
Match Preview


It is now or never for New Zealand as they and South Africa play the 2nd T20 in East London today where the T20 series could possibly be decided if New Zealand donít win. New Zealand were poor in the 1st match and were slaughtered by South Africa who brought their A-Game.


Without Ross Taylor the batting order for New Zealand looks very weak and inexperienced but Brendan McCullum has to step up and score some runs to keep New Zealandís hopes alive for the T20 series.


The fixture brought as many as seven new caps, with the hosts blooding fast bowler Chris Morris, wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock and opener Henry Davids - and the visitors fielding all-rounders Jimmy Neesham and Corey Anderson, batsman Colin Munro and seamer Mitchell McClenaghan.


Rory Kleinveldt didnít have the best of times in Australia but back in his own backyard he looks very strong with the figures of 3 for 18 and he will hope to pick up a few more wickets in the 2nd T20. Kleinveldt hasnít had the greatest time at International level since he has failed to adapt from domestic to International cricket but he just needs a few good performances to cement a spot for now. South Africa's new-look Twenty20 International unit out-gunned a New Zealand XI lined with four debutants in Friday's one-sided series opener at Kingsmead in Durban.


A quadriceps injury has sidelined fast bowler Chris Morris from the remainder of South Africa's three-match Twenty20 International series against New Zealand. Morris made his debut in the first T20I at Kingsmead in Durban on Friday, when he clinched figures of two for 19 in 3.4 overs before leaving the field for treatment. Fellow right-armer Morne Morkel, who was originally scheduled to join the squad for the third and final fixture, has been called up as a replacement ahead of today's second T20 in East London.


Left-arm seamers Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Wayne Parnell are also nursing respective ankle and wrist injuries.


One-nil down in a three-fixture affair, the Black Caps will demand a quick turnaround ahead of Sunday's East London. South Africa, meanwhile, can rest easy in a job well done by their new coach, captain and other fresh faces.


Brendan McCullum has looked completely out of touch with the bat since October and now with the added responsibility of captain it will be harder for the stroke maker to get in form. In the last 7 International matches, McCullum has only made one half century which is not good enough for a wicket keeper batsman. If they are to win this match and keep the series alive, the rest of the batsmen also need to click immediately and they will see their team bite the dust at the end of the day. The top order should take the responsibility on their individual shoulders and comeback with a bang or else we see no reason of hosts not swallowing them up with some great cricket.



Injury to Adam Milne, Tim Southee and Mark Gillespie, too, has left the bowling resources depleted, while their Twenty20 ranking (eighth, three berths lower than South Africa) does not bode well.


McCullum, regardless, will have to work with the personnels at his disposal. Be they stopgap or long-term prospects, Corey Anderson, Colin Munro and company are in for a veritable of baptism of fire a long, long way away from home.


South Africa have no real reason to make any changes unless they are looking to rest some key players.


South Africa Squad : Faf du Plessis (Captain), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock (Wicketkeeper), Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe


New Zealandís batting was shocking and was the downfall to their loss in the 1st T20. Martin Guptill should come in and replace Peter Fulton who looked out of touch in the short format.


New Zealand Squad : Brendon McCullum (Captain) (Wicketkeeper), Corey Anderson, Michael Bates, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Derek de Boorder (Wicketkeeper), James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Ronnie Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Rob Nicol

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2012 Pakistan Cricket Website)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive