South Australia v Western Australia
Sheffield Shield 1979/80
VenueAdelaide Oval, Adelaide on 28th, 29th, 30th, 31st December 1979 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Australia won by 52 runs
PointsSouth Australia 25 (Batting 10, Bowling 5); Western Australia 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2)
UmpiresBE Martin, MG O'Connell
Close of play day 1South Australia (1) 365/3 (Chappell 138*, Hookes 2*)
Close of play day 2Western Australia (1) 124/3 (McEwan ?*)
Close of play day 3Western Australia (1) 139/3 (McEwan 79*, O'Neill 5*)

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Darlingc Wright b Malone50     
JE Nashc Serjeant b Yardley134     
*IM Chappellb Malone154     
JJ Crowec Yardley b Penter31     
DW Hookesnot out32     
JR Hammondnot out7     
PR Sleepdid not bat      
+TJ Robertsondid not bat      
AA Mallettdid not bat      
GR Attenboroughdid not bat      
W Priordid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 11 nb)15
Total(4 wickets, declared, 100 overs)423
Fall of wickets:
1-124 (Darling), 2-231 (Nash), 3-360 (Crowe), 4-398 (Chappell)
Western Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alderman27   3990--
Malone34   21212--
Wood6   1200--
Yardley16   0861--
Mann8   2370--
O'Neill3   0190--
Penter6   1261--

Western Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Woodc Sleep b Prior36     
G Shipperdc Crowe b Attenborough0     
KS McEwanb Prior80     
CS Serjeantlbw b Prior10     
MD O'Neillrun out10     
CE Penterlbw b Prior2     
B Yardleyc Robertson b Attenborough25     
*AL Mannb Mallett16     
+KJ Wrightb Mallett8     
MF Malonec Robertson b Attenborough4     
TM Aldermannot out0     
Extras(7 b, 4 lb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 75.4 overs)204
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Shipperd), 2-73 (Wood), 3-124 (Serjeant), 4-144 (McEwan), 5-150 (Penter), 6-150 (O'Neill), 7-188 (Mann), 8-194 (Yardley), 9-202 (Wright), 10-204 (Malone, 75.4 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prior27   9854--
Mallett21   10312--
Sleep5   460--
Hammond4   090--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Darlingnot out10     
JE Nashlbw b Alderman0     
PR Sleepnot out12     
*IM Chappelldid not bat      
JJ Crowedid not bat      
DW Hookesdid not bat      
JR Hammonddid not bat      
+TJ Robertsondid not bat      
AA Mallettdid not bat      
GR Attenboroughdid not bat      
W Priordid not bat      
Extras(1 nb)1
Total(1 wicket, declared, 4 overs)23
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Nash)
Western Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alderman2   031--
Malone2   0190--

Western Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Woodc Prior b Attenborough24     
G Shipperdst Robertson b Sleep69     
KS McEwanc Prior b Mallett23     
CS Serjeantlbw b Sleep48     
MD O'Neillc Robertson b Attenborough1     
CE Penternot out8     
B Yardleyb Sleep0     
*AL Mannb Attenborough1     
+KJ Wrightc Robertson b Attenborough2     
MF Malonec Robertson b Attenborough0     
TM Aldermanlbw b Sleep5     
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 55.4 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-37 (Wood), 2-68 (McEwan), 3-157 (Serjeant), 4-172 (O'Neill), 5-176 (Shipperd), 6-176 (Yardley), 7-181 (Mann), 8-183 (Wright), 9-183 (Malone), 10-190 (Alderman, 55.4 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prior13   1490--
Attenborough17   3405--
Mallett12   1501--
Hammond4   1160--

--> JE Nash (1) passed his previous highest score of 116 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> JE Nash (1) passed his previous highest score of 124 in First-Class matches
--> IM Chappell (1) passed 19000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 53
--> JJ Crowe (1) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 9
--> KS McEwan (1) passed his previous highest score of 60 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> KS McEwan (1) passed 11500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 36
--> GM Wood (2) passed 1000 runs in Sheffield Shield matches when he reached 20
--> W Prior reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed CS Serjeant, his 2nd wicket in the Western Australia first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive