Hampshire v Sussex
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueDean Park, Bournemouth on 29th, 30th, 31st August 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSussex won by 9 wickets
PointsHampshire 2 (Bowling 2); Sussex 18 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresHD Bird, PB Wight
ScorersVH Isaacs (Hampshire), GGA Saulez (Sussex)
Close of play day 1Sussex (1) 157/2 (Barclay 56*, Phillipson 8*; 52 overs)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 136/4 (Jesty 8*, Pocock 1*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec Wessels b Arnold4     
JM Ricelbw b Imran Khan5     
DR Turnerb Wells27     
TE Jestyb Arnold10     
NEJ Pocockb Arnold25     
NGC Cowleyc Imran Khan b Wells22     
MNS Taylorc Wessels b Imran Khan11     
*+GR Stephensonb Wells1     
MD Marshalllbw b Imran Khan1     
JW Southernc Head b Imran Khan0     
K Stevensonnot out0     
Extras(3 b, 10 lb, 4 nb)17
Total(all out, 59.1 overs)123
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-15, 3-34, 4-57, 5-90, 6-113, 7-118, 8-123, 9-123, 10-123 (59.1 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan16   4404--
Arnold18   11173--
Pigott9   2310--
Phillipson5   190--
Cheatle1   100--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KC Wesselsc Greenidge b Stevenson9     
*JRT Barclayc Stephenson b Stevenson73     
GD Mendisc Rice b Southern61     
CP Phillipsonc Jesty b Rice27     
Imran Khanc Rice b Cowley15     
SP Hoadleylbw b Southern23     
CM Wellsc Cowley b Southern29     
ACS Pigottc Cowley b Marshall3     
RGL Cheatlelbw b Stevenson0     
+TJ Headnot out11     
GG Arnoldc Pocock b Southern0     
Extras(4 b, 14 lb, 8 nb, 5 w)31
Total(all out, 125.5 overs)282
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-135, 3-181, 4-198, 5-220, 6-257, 7-262, 8-264, 9-282, 10-282 (125.5 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall22   8401--
Stevenson28   8643--
Taylor7   1260--
Rice16   5321--
Cowley29   11481--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec and b Cheatle76     
JM Ricec Arnold b Cheatle17     
DR Turnerb Imran Khan27     
TE Jestyc Wessels b Arnold14     
*+GR Stephensonb Imran Khan0     
NEJ Pococklbw b Arnold19     
NGC Cowleyb Arnold4     
MD Marshallc Head b Imran Khan0     
JW Southernlbw b Arnold4     
K Stevensonnot out9     
MNS Taylorabsent hurt
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(all out, 62 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-127, 3-127, 4-127, 5-150, 6-161, 7-166, 8-166, 9-179 (62 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan16   4493--
Arnold14   5314--
Pigott7   2230--
Cheatle17   3392--
Barclay8   2280--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KC Wesselsc Greenidge b Pocock5     
*JRT Barclaynot out19     
GD Mendisnot out0     
CP Phillipsondid not bat      
Imran Khandid not bat      
SP Hoadleydid not bat      
CM Wellsdid not bat      
ACS Pigottdid not bat      
RGL Cheatledid not bat      
+TJ Headdid not bat      
GG Arnolddid not bat      
Total(1 wicket, 5.4 overs)24
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Wessels)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pocock2   141--
Stephenson1   100--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Sussex score at 100 overs in the first innings was 242-5
--> GD Mendis (1) passed 2500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> CM Wells (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in First-Class matches
--> TE Jesty (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 13
--> JRT Barclay (2) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 19
--> CM Wells achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Hampshire first innings (previous best was 0-7)
--> JW Southern reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> GG Arnold reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Hampshire second innings
--> GG Arnold reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 4th wicket in the Hampshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive