Hampshire v Glamorgan
Schweppes County Championship 1978
VenueCounty Ground, Southampton on 6th, 7th, 8th September 1978 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 59 runs
PointsHampshire 20 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Glamorgan 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3)
UmpiresWL Budd, DJ Constant
ScorersFW Culverwell (Glamorgan), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 72/1 (A Jones 45*, Lloyd 0*; 22 overs)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 24/0 (A Jones 8*, Hopkins 14*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec and b Wilkins0     
DJ Rockc EW Jones b Swart53     
DR Turnerc Swart b Ontong18     
TE Jestyc Wilkins b Ontong24     
NGC Cowleyc AL Jones b Wilkins27     
*RMC Gilliatc EW Jones b Wilkins6     
JM Riceb Ontong2     
MNS Taylornot out103     
+GR Stephensonc Wilkins b Ontong66     
K Stevensonnot out0     
JW Southerndid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 9 nb, 3 w)19
Total(8 wickets, declared, 98.5 overs)318
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-73, 3-79, 4-124, 5-131, 6-140, 7-146, 8-314
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash19   6460--
Wilkins23   7553--
Swart19   3691--
Lloyd11   1300--
Holmes1   040--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*A Jonesb Southern66     
JA Hopkinsc and b Cowley26     
BJ Lloydrun out19     
RC Ontongc Stephenson b Taylor4     
AL Jonesc Rock b Taylor0     
PD Swartc Greenidge b Taylor0     
MJ Llewellynnot out43     
GC Holmesc Greenidge b Rice8     
MA Nashb Rice17     
+EW Jonesc Stephenson b Rice0     
AH Wilkinsc Turner b Cowley0     
Extras(3 lb, 5 nb)8
Total(all out, 71.5 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-71, 2-105, 3-118, 4-120, 5-120, 6-121, 7-160, 8-184, 9-190, 10-191 (71.5 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stevenson15   1550--
Jesty5   1150--
Rice11   3243--
Southern20   11361--
Taylor10   6193--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec Holmes b Lloyd133     
DJ Rockc EW Jones b Swart22     
DR Turnerc EW Jones b Lloyd19     
TE Jestyc EW Jones b Lloyd27     
NGC Cowleynot out13     
*RMC Gilliatnot out7     
JM Ricedid not bat      
MNS Taylordid not bat      
+GR Stephensondid not bat      
K Stevensondid not bat      
JW Southerndid not bat      
Extras(8 lb, 5 nb)13
Total(4 wickets, declared, 57 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-127, 2-152, 3-192, 4-217
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash9   1420--
Wilkins9   1360--
Swart13   0451--
Ontong9   2320--
Lloyd17   3663--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*A Jonesc Gilliat b Stevenson75     
JA Hopkinsc Stephenson b Taylor14     
RC Ontongb Stevenson74     
AL Jonesrun out6     
PD Swartc Stephenson b Southern33     
MJ Llewellync Turner b Rice33     
GC Holmesc and b Southern11     
MA Nashc Jesty b Cowley1     
+EW Jonesc Rock b Southern13     
BJ Lloydnot out12     
AH Wilkinsc Rice b Southern11     
Extras(10 lb, 9 nb)19
Total(all out, 106.2 overs)302
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-170, 3-179, 4-189, 5-234, 6-259, 7-260, 8-272, 9-279, 10-302 (106.2 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stevenson11   0402--
Jesty4   1100--
Rice14   5401--
Cowley41   15851--
Taylor6   1401--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> RMC Gilliat made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> RMC Gilliat made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> MNS Taylor (1) passed 7000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 93
--> A Jones (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 8
--> A Jones (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 14
--> CG Greenidge (2) 100 in 82 minutes
--> BJ Lloyd (2) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 9
--> NGC Cowley reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Glamorgan first innings
--> NGC Cowley reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Glamorgan first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive