Surrey v Hampshire
Schweppes County Championship 1978
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 15th, 17th, 18th July 1978 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3); Hampshire 6 (Batting 4, Bowling 2)
UmpiresTW Spencer, AGT Whitehead
ScorersJ Hill (Surrey), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 20/1 (Lynch 13*, Edrich 6*; 11 overs)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 63/1 (Rice 19*, Tremlett 0*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec Lynch b Jackman56     
JM Ricec Knight b Wilson43     
DR Turnerlbw b Jackman4     
TE Jestyc Edrich b Jackman8     
NGC Cowleyb Wilson46     
*RMC Gilliatb Knight54     
MNS Taylornot out62     
TM Tremlettb Wilson28     
+GR Stephensonb Wilson4     
K Stevensondid not bat      
JW Southerndid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)10
Total(8 wickets, declared, 95.2 overs)315
Fall of wickets:
1-90, 2-103, 3-108, 4-114, 5-209, 6-226, 7-303, 8-315 (95.2 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackman27   3803--
Thomas22   3840--
Knight11   1471--
Pocock9   2310--
Intikhab Alam5   270--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherb Jesty1     
MA Lynchb Cowley69     
JH Edrichlbw b Stevenson18     
*RDV Knightc Gilliat b Tremlett78     
Younis Ahmednot out69     
+CJ Richardsc Turner b Southern28     
Intikhab Alamc Tremlett b Cowley0     
PI Pocockc and b Cowley5     
DJ Thomaslbw b Cowley0     
PHL Wilsonnot out9     
RD Jackmandid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 6 nb, 2 w)12
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 104 overs)289
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-43, 3-146, 4-203, 5-258, 6-259, 7-274, 8-274
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stevenson24   10481--
Jesty11   4291--
Taylor13   4400--
Rice5   2170--
Southern15   1321--
Cowley25   2874--
Tremlett11   3241--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec Knight b Pocock43     
JM Ricec Edrich b Pocock61     
TM Tremlettb Intikhab Alam32     
DR Turnerc Butcher b Pocock30     
TE Jestyc Lynch b Intikhab Alam30     
NGC Cowleynot out22     
*RMC Gilliatnot out24     
MNS Taylordid not bat      
+GR Stephensondid not bat      
K Stevensondid not bat      
JW Southerndid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 6 lb, 1 w)13
Total(5 wickets, declared, 105 overs)255
Fall of wickets:
1-63, 2-136, 3-138, 4-199, 5-209
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas9   2300--
Wilson9   1280--
Pocock42   13863--
Intikhab Alam31   10692--
Butcher6   1200--
Younis Ahmed5   260--
Lynch3   130--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherc Greenidge b Tremlett26     
MA Lynchc Greenidge b Stevenson2     
Intikhab Alamb Cowley14     
Younis Ahmedc Stephenson b Greenidge17     
+CJ Richardsnot out4     
JH Edrichnot out2     
*RDV Knightdid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
DJ Thomasdid not bat      
PHL Wilsondid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 1 w)5
Total(4 wickets, 23 overs)70
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-37, 3-63, 4-68
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stevenson5   0281--
Rice6   600--
Southern2   140--
Cowley1   021--
Tremlett5   0231--
Greenidge4   281--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> PHL Wilson made his debut in County Championship matches
--> MA Lynch (1) passed his previous highest score of 68 in County Championship matches
--> MA Lynch (1) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 53
--> Younis Ahmed (1) passed 16000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 39
--> PHL Wilson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Hampshire first innings (previous best was 0-27)
--> PI Pocock reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Hampshire second innings
--> PI Pocock reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Hampshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive