Somerset v Glamorgan
County Championship 1970
VenueMorlands Athletic Ground, Glastonbury on 18th, 20th, 21st July 1970 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 5 wickets
PointsSomerset 8 (Batting 3, Bowling 5); Glamorgan 13 (Batting 1, Bowling 2)
UmpiresWL Budd, H Yarnold
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 13/0 (RC Davis 6*, Cordle 7*; 3 overs)
Close of play day 2Somerset (2) 150/5 (Burgess 20*, Cartwright 16*)

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Shepherd b Majid Khan178     
A Clarksonc BA Davis b Walker13     
PJ Robinsonc A Jones b Shepherd0     
MJ Kitchenc Williams b Walker0     
M Hillc RC Davis b Nash9     
GI Burgessc Majid Khan b Walker36     
TW Cartwrightc Lewis b Williams44     
+DJS Taylorc EW Jones b Williams21     
*BA Langfordc Williams b Shepherd10     
R Palmernot out2     
AA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)10
Total(9 wickets, declared, 110 overs)323
Fall of wickets:
1-59, 2-64, 3-65, 4-86, 5-187, 6-279, 7-293, 8-321, 9-323 (110 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash20   7631--
Williams17   2702--
Cordle12   1510--
Shepherd25   9442--
Walker20   4523--
RC Davis4   2100--
Majid Khan12   5231--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RC Davisc Burgess b Cartwright17     
EA Cordleb Palmer15     
A Jonesc Taylor b Burgess23     
Majid Khanc Virgin b Burgess15     
*AR Lewisc Taylor b Cartwright32     
BA Davisc Langford b Cartwright16     
PM Walkerlbw b Jones22     
+EW Jonesc Taylor b Cartwright1     
MA Nashc Clarkson b Jones0     
DJ Shepherdnot out17     
DL Williamsc Taylor b Cartwright3     
Extras(5 b, 6 lb, 4 nb)15
Total(all out, 70 overs)176
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-46, 3-70, 4-79, 5-116, 6-135, 7-151, 8-152, 9-161, 10-176 (70 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones19   6402--
Palmer12   2261--
Burgess14   3382--
Cartwright25   10575--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Nash b Shepherd29     
A Clarksonc BA Davis b Cordle14     
PJ Robinsonc Lewis b Shepherd42     
MJ Kitchenb Williams0     
M Hillc Walker b RC Davis25     
GI Burgessc RC Davis b Williams35     
TW Cartwrightnot out32     
*BA Langfordc A Jones b Williams1     
+DJS Taylordid not bat      
R Palmerdid not bat      
AA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(5 lb)5
Total(7 wickets, declared, 47.3 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-62, 3-63, 4-109, 5-118, 6-172, 7-183 (47.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash3   0140--
Cordle5   0341--
Shepherd18   6402--
RC Davis6   2241--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesc Jones b Cartwright34     
RC Davisc Cartwright b Langford53     
Majid Khanc Taylor b Langford68     
*AR Lewisc Taylor b Palmer54     
BA Davislbw b Palmer91     
PM Walkernot out21     
+EW Jonesnot out0     
EA Cordledid not bat      
MA Nashdid not bat      
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
DL Williamsdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)11
Total(5 wickets, 103.1 overs)332
Fall of wickets:
1-62, 2-150, 3-157, 4-291, 5-328
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones21   3750--
Palmer14   2592--
Burgess14   2610--
Cartwright30   13541--
Robinson4   190--

--> RT Virgin (1) passed his previous highest score of 151 in County Championship matches
--> RT Virgin (1) passed his previous highest score of 162 in first-class matches
--> RT Virgin (1) passed 12500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 167
--> AR Lewis (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 48
--> PM Walker reached 750 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Somerset first innings
--> TW Cartwright reached 1150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Glamorgan first innings
--> DJ Shepherd reached 1900 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Somerset second innings
--> R Palmer reached 150 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive