New South Wales v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1962/63
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 16th, 17th, 19th November 1962 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew South Wales won by an innings and 80 runs
UmpiresWE Hicks, EF Wykes
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 0/0 (Thomas 0*, Simpson 0*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 408/5 (Davidson 29*, Flockton 8*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Pullarc Simpson b Martin132     
DS Sheppardc Ford b Martin18     
*ER Dexterb Martin42     
MC Cowdreyc Davidson b O'Neill50     
TW Graveneyc Thomas b O'Neill0     
PH Parfittb Benaud17     
R Illingworthc Thomas b Benaud19     
+AC Smithc Simpson b Benaud0     
DA Allennot out18     
FS Truemanc Benaud b Martin12     
JB Stathamst Ford b Simpson30     
Extras(7 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 340 minutes, 89.2 overs)348
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-92, 3-180, 4-180, 5-251, 6-279, 7-280, 8-291, 9-303, 10-348 (89.2 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davidson11   2340-1
Misson11   1460--
Benaud25   9613--
Martin24   11224--
O'Neill7   1362--
Flockton1   050--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Thomasb Trueman7     
RB Simpsonc Smith b Illingworth110     
NCL O'Neillc Allen b Dexter143     
BC Booth hit wkt b Dexter41     
RN Harveyb Statham63     
AK Davidsonb Illingworth55     
RG Flocktonnot out62     
*R Benaudnot out40     
JW Martindid not bat      
FM Missondid not bat      
+DA Forddid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 8 lb, 1 nb)11
Total(6 wickets, declared, 481 minutes, 116 overs)532
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-250, 3-271, 4-366, 5-385, 6-449
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trueman11   1451--
Statham22   0941--
Allen24   11170--
Dexter26   11162--
Illingworth32   31442-1
Pullar1   050--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Pullarb Benaud18     
DS Sheppardc Ford b Davidson7     
*ER Dexterc Misson b Benaud5     
MC Cowdreyc Simpson b Martin8     
TW Graveneyb Benaud9     
PH Parfittc Thomas b Benaud22     
R Illingworthb Martin1     
+AC Smithc Thomas b Benaud4     
DA Allennot out12     
FS Truemanc O'Neill b Benaud6     
JB Stathamb Benaud0     
Extras(9 b, 3 lb)12
Total(all out, 173 minutes, 43.1 overs)104
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-29, 3-36, 4-44, 5-51, 6-58, 7-83, 8-83, 9-97, 10-104 (43.1 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davidson10   4111--
Misson3   0250--
Martin12   3382--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> NCL O'Neill (1) passed 8000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 121
--> R Benaud reached 850 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
--> R Benaud achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 7-32)

12th Men: WJSaunders (NSW) MCC duties shared
Crowds: 12989, 28259, 9569. Total: 50,817. Receipts: 8,706 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive