Hampshire v Australians
Australia in British Isles 1938
VenueCounty Ground, Southampton on 25th, 26th, 27th May 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossAustralians won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresW Reeves, EJ Smith
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Australians (1) 204/1 (Fingleton 81*, Bradman 71*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NT McCorkellc Chipperfield b O'Reilly10     
J Arnoldb O'Reilly23     
*CGA Parisb O'Reilly18     
WCL Creeseb O'Reilly22     
RH Mooreb Fleetwood-Smith5     
AE Pothecaryc Walker b O'Reilly16     
JWJ Steelerun out24     
G Hillc Fingleton b White11     
GS Boyesc Bradman b O'Reilly11     
AEG Baringb White0     
GEM Heathnot out4     
Extras(9 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)13
Total(all out, 46.5 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-47, 3-66, 4-77, 5-85, 6-110, 7-141, 8-142, 9-144, 10-157 (46.5 ov)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McCormick3   1160--
McCabe3   090--
White11   3192--
Fleetwood-Smith9   0351--

Australians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JHW Fingletonnot out123     
WA Brownc Pothecary b Boyes47     
*DG Bradmannot out145     
AL Hassettdid not bat      
AG Chipperfielddid not bat      
ECS Whitedid not bat      
WJ O'Reillydid not bat      
EL McCormickdid not bat      
SJ McCabedid not bat      
+CW Walkerdid not bat      
LO Fleetwood-Smithdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(1 wicket, declared, 96 overs)320
Fall of wickets:
1-78 (Brown)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Baring20   2970--
Heath16   1540--
Steele15   2600--
Boyes17   5391--
Hill19   4450--
Creese9   5200--

--> JHW Fingleton (1) passed 6000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 44
--> DG Bradman (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 124
--> DG Bradman (1) passed 19000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 102
--> WJ O'Reilly reached 500 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Hampshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive