New South Wales Country v South Africans
South Africa in Australia and New Zealand 1963/64
VenueThe Showground, Cooma on 4th February 1964 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over8
PlayersNew South Wales Country: 12 (11 to bat and field); South Africans: 11
TossNew South Wales Country won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Africans won by 7 wickets
UmpiresHAR Elphinstone, G Taylor

New South Wales Country inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Napierb Partridge2     
NWL Berginc Waite b Partridge2     
*J Thurbonb Halse11     
G Faheyc Farrer b Halse0     
J Romneyrun out24     
D Mouldlbw b DB Pithey17     
J Burnsnot out23     
+R Ruddrun out1     
J Hallnot out12     
RL Le Fevredid not bat      
RM Crokerdid not bat      
P Metcalfedid not bat      
Extras(13 b, 5 lb, 1 nb)19
Total(7 wickets, declared, 30 overs)111
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-15, 3-15, 4-17, 5-70, 6-76, 7-77
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Partridge7   0262--
Halse6   1132--
Barlow2   060--
DB Pithey7   3171-1
van der Merwe2   110--
Waite2   0160--
AJ Pithey3   1100--
Carlstein1   030--

South Africans inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JT Partridgeb Hall15     
*PL van der Merwec Burns b Metcalfe14     
AJ Pitheyc Croker b Romney27     
PR Carlsteinst Rudd b Burns25     
+DT Lindsayc and b Romney35     
JHB Waitest Rudd b Le Fevre28     
WS Farrerc Burns b Le Fevre20     
KC Blandnot out10     
DB Pitheyc Metcalfe b Le Fevre0     
CG Halsec Rudd b Le Fevre0     
EJ Barlowb Mould1     
Extras(4 b, 3 nb)7
Total(all out, 27.4 overs)182
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-35, 3-63, 4-114, 5-120, 6-163, 7-178, 8-178, 9-179, 10-182 (27.4 ov)
New South Wales Country bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall7   0241-3
Metcalfe5   1271--
Croker4   0330--
Romney4   0342--
Burns2   0211--
Le Fevre3   0224--

--> South Africans batted on after winning

The New South Wales Country 12th Man P Metcalfe was allowed to bowl in the South Africans innings
The pitch was so wet after overnight rain that volunteers lit petrol to dry it out - which worked





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive