Australia announce the limited overs squad
by Cricketarchive Staff Reporter

Player:A Symonds, DA Warner, SM Harwood, B Laughlin, B Geeves, BW Hilfenhaus, PM Siddle
Event:Australia in South Africa 2008/09

DateLine: 12th March 2009


Peter Siddle and Ben Hilfenhaus will be rested for Australia's limited-overs contests against South Africa to protect them ahead of the Twenty20 World Cup and the Ashes. The benefactors of the decision are Brett Geeves, the Tasmania fast bowler, and Queensland's Ben Laughlin. Geeves played an ODI against Bangladesh last year and is with the Test squad in South Africa while Laughlin, the son of the three-Test player Trevor Laughlin, has impressed during a strong domestic campaign. He captured 23 wickets in the FR Cup and and will be part of the unit for the two Twenty20s and the five ODIs.


Shane Harwood, the 35-year-old Victorian, gets the chance for a second Twenty20 international after being included for the two matches in Johannesburg and Centurion at the end of the month. He played a game in 2007 and has recovered from an ankle injury to take his place in the Sheffield Shield final against Queensland from Friday. David Warner, who holds his Twenty20 spot, will fly home with Harwood after the two matches.


Andrew Symonds remains on the outer while the opener Shaun Marsh has not been chosen after tearing a hamstring against New Zealand. Hilditch expects Marsh to be fit for the Pakistan series in late April.


Australia squad : Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin (wk), David Warner, Ricky Ponting (capt), David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Adam Voges, Cameron White, Callum Ferguson, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Laughlin, Brett Geeves, Shane Harwood.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive