Pakistan wins series despite Chanderpaul century
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Scorecard:Pakistan v West Indies
Player:Salman Butt, Khurram Manzoor, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, CH Gayle, S Chattergoon, RR Sarwan, S Chanderpaul
Event:West Indies in United Arab Emirates 2008/09

DateLine: 15th November 2008


Pakistan wins series despite Chanderpaul century


Despite a heroic century by Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Pakistan beat West Indies by 24 runs in the second ODI for the Fortune Cup, to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. The third match would be played on the 16th of November at Abu Dhabi.


Pakistan had earlier won the toss and elected to bat first, but lost early wickets. Salman Butt and Khurram Manzoor left in quick succession, but then Younis Khan, Kamran Akmal and Shahid Afridi all propped up the Pakistani inning with good starts. However, the only fifty scorer of the inning was Misbah-ul-Haq, who scored a 88-ball 52 to steer the Pakistanis to 232 all out, without batting their full quota of overs. Sohail Tanvir’s lusty hitting in the end got him 26 runs off 20 deliveries, yet, the target did not look too daunting.


However, it was Tanvir again who broke the back of the West Indian batting with a spell of bowling that won him the Man-of-the-Match. Swinging the ball both ways, and bowling with the wrong foot, he first accounted for West Indian skipper Chris Gayle with an in-swinging yorker, and then had S. Chatergoon caught behind off an away going delivery. Ramnaresh Sarwan and Chanderpaul did stitch together a reasonable partnership, but after the former got out, the Pakistani spinners strangled the West Indies with some accurate bowling on a slowing pitch. Xavier Marshall and Shaun Findlay were both run-out, and even as Chanderpaul kept giving chances and getting away, the asking run-rate kept mounting.


In the end, Chanderpaul reached his century, but none of the other batsmen provided any support at the other end, as the Windies capitulated to a 208 all out in 48.5 overs.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive