Batsman Shamshad helps Uttar Pradesh thrash Sialkot
by AFP

Ground:Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharmasala
Scorecard:Uttar Pradesh v Sialkot
Player:RU Shukla, R Shamshad, PP Chawla, RP Singh, Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Asif, Khalid Mahmood
Event:Mohammad Nissar Trophy 2006/07

DateLine: 30th September 2006


Experienced batsman Rizwan Shamshad outshone promising youngsters as Uttar Pradesh thrashed Sialkot by 316 runs to lift the Mohammad Nissar Trophy here on Saturday.


Shamshad, 33, top-scored in both innings with knocks of 84 and 88 after which the opposition were bowled out for a meagre 112 in their second innings of the match between the Indian and Pakistan national champions.


Shamshad, who had aggregated 6816 runs in 104 previous first-class games, helped set a massive 429-run target for Imran Nazir-led Sialkot but the injury-hit side folded up in just 35.5 overs on the final day.


Internationals Suresh Raina, Rudra Pratap Singh and Piyush Chawla turned out for Ranji Trophy champions Uttar Pradesh while Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Asif and Nazir were the big names for the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy winners.


Asif's participation was limited because of a sprained upper back while Nazir and wicketkeeper Khalid Hafiz joined Asim Butt and Inamul Haq in a long list of indisposed players that forced Sialkot to take local help for fielding.


Brief scores:


Uttar Pradesh 316 (Rizwan Shamshad 84, Ravikant Shukla 54, Piyush Chawla 48, Sarfraz Ahmed 3-61, Tahir Mughal 3-102) and 373-7 decl (Rizwan Shamshad 88, Ravikant Shukla 64, Suresh Raina 55, Jyoti Yadav 53 not out) bt Sialkot 261 (Imran Nazir 123, Praveen Kumar 3-70, Piyush Chawla 3-81) and 112 (Shehzad Malik 31 not out, Rudra Pratap Singh 4-26).


Result: Uttar Pradesh won by 316 runs.

(Article: Copyright © 2006 AFP)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive