Sachin Tendulkar takes home ICC Cricketer of the Year Award
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:SR Tendulkar, V Sehwag, AB de Villiers, ST Finn

DateLine: 7th October 2010


Sachin Tendulkar won his maiden ICC Cricketer of the Year trophy along with the People's Choice Award, while Virender Sehwag was named the Test Cricketer of the Year. Tendulkar clinched the coveted trophy by beating South African Hashim Amla, Englishman Graeme Swann and Sehwag.


"It's better late than never. I am getting the award in the 21st year of my career, so it's fantastic. I have been working hard for this award," Tendulkar said after receiving the honour.


Tendulkar, who made his debut as a 16-year-old against Pakistan way back in November 15, 1989, was also named the winner of LG People's Choice Award.


India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named captain of the ICC's World Test XI, while Australia was chosen as the best ODI team of the period between August 2009 and 2010.


Team India won the Test Team of the Year whereas Australia bagged the ODI Team of the Year Award.


South Africa's AB de Villiers has won the ODI Player of the Year award.


De Villiers beat off tough competition from Sachin Tendulkar and the Australia duo of Shane Watson and Ryan Harris to take the prestigious award.


England fast bowler Steven Finn has won the ICC Emerging Player of the Year award. The 21-year-old, who played in six Test matches in the voting period and took 27 wickets at an average of 21.85, has made an immediate impact within the England side with his extra pace and bounce since making his Test debut in March of this year.


Pakistan Umpire Aleem Dar has won the David Shepherd Trophy for the second time after being named ICC Umpire of the Year. It is the second year in a row that he has received the ICC award which has been newly named after the late England umpire David Shepherd and upon collecting the trophy from Chris Broad, Dar said: "I think the fact I'm still playing cricket in Pakistan makes me a good umpire, in the last four times I've played cricket I scored centuries so I definitely think that has helped.


West Indies great Joel Garner was inducted into ICC Hall of Fame in the ceremony.


Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate has become the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year.


The ICC on Wednesday announced its Test and ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.


ICC Test team of the year (in batting order):


Virender Sehwag (IND), Simon Katich (AUS), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Hashim Amla (RSA), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND /capt and wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (ENG), James Anderson (ENG), Dale Steyn (RSA), Doug Bollinger (AUS).


ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):


Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Shane Watson (AUS), Michael Hussey (AUS), AB de Villiers (RSA), Paul Collingwood (ENG), Ricky Ponting (AUS/capt), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND - wicketkeeper), Daniel Vettori (NZL), Stuart Broad (ENG), Doug Bollinger (AUS), Ryan Harris (AUS).


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive