Strauss, Trott help England clinch a thriller
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Ground:North West Cricket Stadium, Potchefstroom
Scorecard:South Africa A v England XI
Player:AG Puttick, AJ Strauss, IJL Trott, MJ Prior
Event:England in South Africa 2009/10

DateLine: 18th November 2009


England won a tense encounter in the warm-up match against South Africa A as they geared up for bigger battles. Strauss, Trott and Prior notched up vital fifties to help England cross a stiff target set up South Africa A and the win could act as a balm to a dressing room that is already ravaged by untimely injuries.


Against a bowling attack that was well short of fire-power and experience Amla elected to bat first after winning the toss. His decision was justified as the openers put the bowlers to sword with some aggressive stroke-play. Amla and Andrew Puttick put on 77 in 14.4 overs as Onions and Bresnan found the proceedings a little too tough for their liking. Luke Wright finally got the breakthrough when he had Amla caught by Strauss for 37. Rossouw's failed to beat an accurate throw from Wright and it seemed that the base that Amla and Puttick provided was being squandered. Puttick passed his fifty before being dismissed for a well paced 62.


Herschelle Gibbs struggled for fluency and his dismissal swung the game in England's favour as they took four wickets for 27 runs in 7.1 overs. Morne Morkel joined Heino Kuhn and the two put 40 runs in their 5.4 over stand. The two helped South Africa A to register a score of 279 for the loss of nine wickets.


Andrew Strauss led England's chase, dominating a 68-run opening stand with Joe Denly before the latter was dismissed. The skipper was joined by Trott and the two steadied the ship. Trott shared productive partnerships, first with Strauss and then Matt Prior, as his 89-ball 78 gave England provided England an outside chance of victory. A decisive 46-run stand between Matt Prior and Luke Wright sealed the result in England's favour.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive