Bond, Tuffey return to international cricket
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:RA Young, SE Bond, DR Tuffey
Event:New Zealand in Sri Lanka 2009

DateLine: 7th July 2009


Shane Bond and Daryl Tuffey have been recalled to New Zealand's Test and ODI squads under an amnesty for players who quit the rebel Indian Cricket League. Fast bowlers Bond and Tuffey both spent time in the unsanctioned ICL Twenty20 competition before being welcomed back under an amnesty for rebel players announced last month by New Zealand Cricket.


The only condition placed on their reinstatement was that they should sever all ties with rebel competitions. Bond will make his initial comeback to international play on the New Zealand A team's tour to India in early August before playing in New Zealand's ODIs and Twenty20 matches in Sri Lanka. The full itinerary for the New Zealand tour has yet to be finalized. Tuffey was named in New Zealand's Test squad after what chief selector Glenn Turner said was a strong domestic season in which he took 27 wickets at an average of 22.


Turner said Sri Lankan conditions would likely suit Tuffey's bowling style. Bond was named in the One-day and Twenty20 squad alongside Kyle Mills, who will also play on the A team's Indian tour as he attempts to recover form.


The only newcomer to the New Zealand Test squad is uncapped Auckland wicketkeeper Reece Young, who will provide cover for Brendon McCullum.


New Zealand squads :


Test squad to Sri Lanka : Daniel Vettori (Capt.), Craig Cumming, Grant Elliott, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Iain O'Brien, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey, Reece Young.


ODI and T20 squad to Sri Lanka : Daniel Vettori (Capt.), Shane Bond, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor.


New Zealand A squad to India : Peter Fulton (Capt.), Brent Arnel, Shane Bond, Neil Broom, Brendon Diamanti, Gareth Hopkins, Jamie How, Peter McGlashan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Aaron Redmond, Tim Southee, B.J. Watling, Kane Williamson.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive