Statistical highlights of South Africa v Canada 27th February 2003
by Rajneesh Gupta

Scorecard:South Africa v Canada

  • Ashish Patel became the 27th Canadian to make an ODI appearance.
  • Allan Donald was playing his 25th World Cup match – most by any South African. He went past Jonty Rhodes’ tally of 24 matches.
  • The 109 run partnership between Graeme Smith and Boeta Dippenaar was the South Africa's best in the World Cup for the 4th wicket bettering the previous best of 79 runs between Peter Kirsten and Dave Richardson against New Zealand at Auckland on 29-2-1992.
  • John Davison, with his lone wicket in the match, became the highest wicket taker for Canada. He now has seven wickets to his credit which takes him ahead of Austin Codrington’s tally of six wickets.
  • Ishwar Maraj reached his fifty off 148 balls. This is perhaps the slowest fifty on record in ODI history. Pakistan’s Javed Miandad had taken 143 balls for his fifty against West Indies at Perth in 1989. However it must be noted that very little (or no) details are available for some innings particularly of the earlier years and it is possible that some other batsman might have taken more balls to complete his fifty.
  • The unbeaten partnership of 52 runs between Ishwar Maraj and Ashish Bagai was Canada's all time best for the sixth wicket in ODIs. The pair obliterates the previous best of 26 runs between Ian Billcliff and Abdul Sattur against Bangladesh at Durban on February 11.
  • Ishwar Maraj became the ninth batsman in World Cup to carry the bat throughout the completed innings. He also became the second batsman from non-Test playing nation to carry the bat through out his team's innings in the World Cup after Zimbabwean Andy Flower (115*) who achieved this distinction during the 1992 World Cup against Sri Lanka at New Plymouth.
  • Canada's total of 136-5 in 50 overs was the lowest by any team playing their full quota of overs against South Africa. UAE had made 152-8 in 50 overs at Rawalpindi on 16-2-1996.

(Article: Copyright © 2003 Rajneesh Gupta)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive