Northamptonshire Second XI v Leicestershire Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1958
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 9th, 10th June 1958 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire Second XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNorthamptonshire Second XI 3; Leicestershire Second XI 1
UmpiresJH Lichfield, EW Peck
ScorersJW Carter (Leicestershire Second XI), J Mercer (Northamptonshire Second XI)
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire Second XI (2) 2/0 (Norman 1*, Alker 1*)

Northamptonshire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Alkerb Barratt58 1249- 
MEJC Normanc Wheeler b Smith45 703- 
SA Leadbetterb Lester0 4-- 
PJ Wattsc Foster b Barratt28 795- 
PD Wattsc and b Barratt10 82- 
V Broderickb Barratt0 4-- 
J Wildst Julian b Barratt4 51- 
+LA Johnsonst Julian b Walsh20 462- 
PA Shentonst Julian b Lester45 5232 
MR Dilleyb Lester2 6-- 
L McGibbonnot out0 5-- 
Extras(6 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 80.2 overs)222
Fall of wickets:
1-75 (Norman), 2-80 (Leadbetter), 3-127 (Alker), 4-139 (PD Watts), 5-143 (Broderick), 6-147 (Wild), 7-152 (PJ Watts), 8-214 (Johnson), 9-221 (Dilley), 10-222 (Shenton, 80.2 ov)
Leicestershire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Goodson11   0460--
Diment8   1180-1
Smith27   10511--
Barratt12   4435--
Walsh5   0121--

Leicestershire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Lesterb PD Watts28 852- 
RA Dimentc McGibbon b PD Watts43 756- 
RT Burbeckb PD Watts0 1-- 
I Fosterc PD Watts b Wild1 9-- 
R Wheelerc PD Watts b Wild28 684- 
+R Julianc Leadbetter b PD Watts7 81- 
FM Turnerc Leadbetter b Wild4 51- 
*JE Walshb Wild5 81- 
RC Smithrun out6 161- 
D Goodsonc PD Watts b Wild2 8-- 
RJ Barrattnot out3 10-- 
Extras(7 b, 2 lb)9
Total(all out, 57.2 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-73 (Diment), 2-73 (Burbeck), 3-78 (Lester), 4-78 (Foster), 5-89 (Julian), 6-93 (Turner), 7-100 (Walsh), 8-109 (Smith), 9-118 (Goodson), 10-136 (Wheeler, 57.2 ov)
Northamptonshire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGibbon9   3200--
Dilley8   1200--
PD Watts18   8354--

Northamptonshire Second XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MEJC Normannot out48 856- 
J Alkernot out32 854- 
SA Leadbetterdid not bat      
PJ Wattsdid not bat      
PD Wattsdid not bat      
V Broderickdid not bat      
J Wilddid not bat      
+LA Johnsondid not bat      
PA Shentondid not bat      
MR Dilleydid not bat      
L McGibbondid not bat      
Total(no wicket, declared, 85 minutes, 36 overs)80
Leicestershire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Goodson8   1260--
Diment1   100--
Smith17   11130--
Barratt10   1410--

Leicestershire Second XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Lesternot out16 801- 
RA Dimentnot out42 807- 
RT Burbeckdid not bat      
I Fosterdid not bat      
R Wheelerdid not bat      
+R Juliandid not bat      
FM Turnerdid not bat      
*JE Walshdid not bat      
RC Smithdid not bat      
D Goodsondid not bat      
RJ Barrattdid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 80 minutes, 29 overs)58
Northamptonshire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGibbon4   310--
Dilley6   1260--
Broderick4   260--
Wild6   1100--
PD Watts4   090--
PJ Watts5   260--

--> G Lester made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> RT Burbeck made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> J Alker (1) passed his previous highest score of 38 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> RJ Barratt achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches when he dismissed V Broderick in the Northamptonshire Second XI first innings (previous best was 2-79)
--> RJ Barratt achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Northamptonshire Second XI first innings
--> PD Watts achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches when he dismissed R Julian in the Leicestershire Second XI first innings (previous best was 3-23)

Rain stopped play on the second day between 12.20 and 4.40





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive