Northamptonshire v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1920
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 26th, 28th, 29th June 1920 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNottinghamshire won by 3 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 0; Nottinghamshire 5
UmpiresW Phillips, TM Russell
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 182/4 (G Gunn 101*, Payton 19*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 124/2 (Payton 1*, Flint 1*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Adamsc sub b Richmond8     
CN Woolleyc Whysall b Barratt9     
RA Haywoodc G Gunn b Lee44     
FI Waldenb Barratt49     
W Wellsc Whysall b Lee8     
*RO Ravenc Richmond b Lee43     
WP Walkerc Whysall b JR Gunn48     
+WA Buswellc Payton b Richmond1     
AE Thomasb Richmond6     
JV Murdinc G Gunn b Staples34     
F Kitsonnot out0     
Extras(8 b, 7 lb, 2 w)17
Total(all out, 68.4 overs)267
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-18, 3-95, 4-105, 5-165, 6-180, 7-187, 8-195, 9-263, 10-267 (68.4 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barratt22   5562--
Richmond21   4863--
Flint2   02001-
Lee15   1653--
JR Gunn1   101--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Gunnb Woolley112     
+WW Whysallb Thomas31     
JR Gunnb Woolley15     
*AW Carrc Raven b Woolley2     
J Hardstaffc Thomas b Haywood8     
WRD Paytonc Haywood b Murdin33     
GM Leeb Woolley0     
SJ Staplesnot out5     
F Barrattb Murdin0     
B Flintc and b Murdin0     
TL Richmondc Adams b Murdin6     
Extras(1 nb, 5 w)6
Total(all out, 83.4 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-55, 2-94, 3-100, 4-119, 5-205, 6-207, 7-207, 8-210, 9-210, 10-218 (83.4 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Woolley37   8874--
Thomas17   3341--
Haywood8   1301--
Kitson4   013051
Walden1   0110--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Adamsb Staples19     
CN Woolleyst Whysall b Richmond4     
RA Haywoodst Whysall b Richmond104 9083 
FI Waldenlbw b Staples4     
W Wellsc Lee b Hardstaff78     
JV Murdinc Hardstaff b Richmond0     
*RO Ravenc Staples b Richmond17     
WP Walkerb Hardstaff0     
+WA Buswellc Hardstaff b Richmond0     
AE Thomasb Hardstaff0     
F Kitsonnot out0     
Extras(16 b, 5 lb)21
Total(all out, 64.1 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-65, 3-82, 4-214, 5-216, 6-242, 7-247, 8-247, 9-247, 10-247 (64.1 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barratt3   230--
Staples18   3772--
JR Gunn4   0180--
Flint3   0130--
G Gunn5   1200--
Hardstaff8   1273--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Gunnc Murdin b Woolley45     
+WW Whysallc Walker b Murdin75     
SJ Staplesrun out32     
B Flintlbw b Murdin3     
JR Gunnnot out93     
*AW Carrc Thomas b Haywood2     
J Hardstaffc Murdin b Woolley7     
WRD Paytonb Haywood24     
GM Leenot out9     
F Barrattdid not bat      
TL Richmonddid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 1 w)7
Total(7 wickets, 121.3 overs)297
Fall of wickets:
1-120, 2-122, 3-129, 4-184, 5-189, 6-206, 7-254
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Murdin38   111072--
Woolley44   14812--
Thomas22   7400--

--> W Adams made his debut in first-class matches
--> W Adams made his debut in County Championship matches
--> RO Raven (1) passed his previous highest score of 31 in County Championship matches
--> RO Raven (1) passed his previous highest score of 31 in first-class matches
--> WP Walker (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in County Championship matches
--> WP Walker (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in first-class matches
--> JV Murdin (1) passed his previous highest score of 20 in County Championship matches
--> JV Murdin (1) passed his previous highest score of 20 in first-class matches
--> G Gunn (2) passed 17000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> TL Richmond reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive