Leicestershire v Lancashire
CricInfo Championship 2001 (Division 1)
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 9th, 10th, 11th May 2001 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 6 runs
PointsLeicestershire 16 (Batting 1, Bowling 3); Lancashire 3 (Bowling 3)
UmpiresB Dudleston, MJ Kitchen
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 45/0 (Atherton 18*, Chilton 23*; 18 overs)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 72/4 (Sutcliffe 29*, Marsh 5*; 46 overs)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*VJ Wellsc Fairbrother b Chapple3466724- 
DL Maddylbw b Smethurst44841017- 
IJ Sutcliffelbw b Martin2272863- 
BF Smithc Fairbrother b Muralitharan163-- 
A Habibc Crawley b Muralitharan046-- 
DJ Marshlbw b Smethurst719611111- 
DI Stevenslbw b Chapple2839434- 
JM Dakinb Chapple1029391- 
+ND Burnsnot out927362- 
MJA Whileyb Chapple055-- 
DE Malcolmc Martin b Chapple1107-- 
Extras(6 lb, 6 nb, 8 w)20
Total(all out, 72.3 overs)240
Fall of wickets:
1-70 (Wells), 2-95 (Maddy), 3-96 (Smith), 4-96 (Habib), 5-146 (Sutcliffe), 6-214 (Stevens), 7-226 (Marsh), 8-238 (Dakin), 9-238 (Whiley), 10-240 (Malcolm)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin13   25311-
Smethurst15   360212
Muralitharan25   10562--
Scuderi3   0250-1

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Athertonc Burns b Malcolm29701535- 
MJ Chiltonc Burns b Malcolm23641313- 
*JP Crawleyb Malcolm84963-- 
RC Driverc Marsh b Dakin1613-- 
NH Fairbrotherc Stevens b Wells45921107- 
JC Scuderic Marsh b Wells3075893- 
+WK Heggnot out3563775- 
G Chappleb Dakin0910-- 
PJ Martinc Marsh b Malcolm022-- 
MP Smethurstc Wells b Dakin31321-- 
M Muralitharanb Malcolm1420283- 
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 6 w)11
Total(all out, 77 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-45 (Chilton), 2-56 (Atherton), 3-59 (Driver), 4-83 (Crawley), 5-138 (Fairbrother), 6-147 (Scuderi), 7-152 (Chapple), 8-153 (Martin), 9-168 (Smethurst), 10-199 (Muralitharan)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malcolm28   67852-
Wells10   2182--
Marsh7   460--
Stevens1   050--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*VJ Wellslbw b Martin011-- 
DL Maddyb Muralitharan2045553- 
IJ Sutcliffec Hegg b Martin291591692- 
BF Smithlbw b Martin1450571- 
A Habiblbw b Muralitharan193-- 
DJ Marshnot out501381636- 
DI Stevensc Chilton b Muralitharan711171- 
JM Dakinb Chapple32829-- 
+ND Burnsc Fairbrother b Martin3955537- 
MJA Whileyb Martin031-- 
DE Malcolmb Muralitharan011-- 
Extras(2 lb, 4 w)6
Total(all out, 83.2 overs)169
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Wells), 2-40 (Maddy), 3-63 (Smith), 4-64 (Habib), 5-78 (Sutcliffe), 6-91 (Stevens), 7-112 (Dakin), 8-168 (Burns), 9-168 (Whiley), 10-169 (Malcolm)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin27   95251-
Chapple15   43811-
Smethurst4   0210--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Athertonc Burns b Dakin1219301- 
MJ Chiltonlbw b Dakin1119231- 
*JP Crawleyc Burns b Malcolm5391979- 
RC Driverc Sutcliffe b Marsh35611047- 
NH Fairbrotherb Malcolm197-- 
JC Scuderilbw b Wells1525392- 
+WK Hegglbw b Marsh7812-- 
G Chapplec Marsh b Dakin4486924- 
PJ Martinlbw b Maddy522281- 
MP Smethurstc Marsh b Maddy62234-- 
M Muralitharannot out135-- 
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 7 w)14
Total(all out, 60.5 overs)204
Fall of wickets:
1-22 (Chilton), 2-23 (Atherton), 3-113 (Crawley), 4-119 (Fairbrother), 5-121 (Driver), 6-139 (Hegg), 7-147 (Scuderi), 8-176 (Martin), 9-202 (Smethurst), 10-204 (Chapple)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malcolm19   27021-
Wells12   4261--
Maddy8   02621-
Marsh11   23521-

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> DJ Marsh (1) passed his previous highest score of 61 in County Championship matches
--> DJ Marsh (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 62
--> DI Stevens (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 5
--> RC Driver (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> JC Scuderi (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> M Muralitharan (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in County Championship matches
--> M Muralitharan reached 650 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed BF Smith, his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive