Pakistan v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka in Pakistan 1999/00 (3rd Test)
VenueNational Stadium, Karachi on 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th March 2000 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
ResultPakistan won by 222 runs
UmpiresRiazuddin, RB Tiffin
TV umpireAfzaal Ahmed
RefereeBF Hastings
ScorerArif Majeed (Pakistan)
Close of play day 1Sri Lanka (1) 10/0 (Atapattu 1*, Jayasuriya 5*; 2 overs)
Close of play day 2Pakistan (2) 88/3 (Inzamam-ul-Haq 12*, Shoaib Akhtar 0*; 31 overs)
Close of play day 3Pakistan (2) 375/7 (Moin Khan 51*, Waqar Younis 18*; 121 overs)
Man of the MatchInzamam-ul-Haq

Pakistan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Naved Ashrafb Pushpakumara539671- 
Shahid Afridic Wickramasinghe b Muralitharan7492136121 
Ijaz Ahmedlbw b Vaas720321- 
Inzamam-ul-Haqrun out (Pushpakumara->Muralitharan)8616324410- 
Yousuf Youhanac Wickramasinghe b Muralitharan734411- 
Younis Khanlbw b Vaas735331- 
*+Moin Khanc de Saram b Wickramasinghe625281- 
Waqar Younisc Dilshan b Muralitharan16363311 
Shoaib Akhtarc Pushpakumara b Muralitharan26576022 
Irfan Fazilnot out11922-- 
Mohammad Akramc Atapattu b Jayasuriya01413-- 
Extras(2 lb, 19 nb)21
Total(all out, 85.5 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-40 (Naved Ashraf, 12.3 ov), 2-82 (Ijaz Ahmed, 18.4 ov), 3-111 (Shahid Afridi, 27.6 ov), 4-135 (Yousuf Youhana, 39.1 ov), 5-152 (Younis Khan, 47.3 ov), 6-164 (Moin Khan, 55.4 ov), 7-197 (Waqar Younis, 64.1 ov), 8-247 (Inzamam-ul-Haq, 78.1 ov), 9-255 (Shoaib Akhtar, 80.5 ov), 10-256 (Mohammad Akram, 85.5 ov)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Vaas18   4492-11
Pushpakumara16   4371-5
Wickramasinghe13   2641-3
Muralitharan32   10894--

Sri Lanka first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MS Atapattulbw b Waqar Younis31621-- 
*ST Jayasuriyac Ijaz Ahmed b Shoaib Akhtar24274931 
RP Arnoldc Younis Khan b Irfan Fazil48611098- 
DPMD Jayawardenec Moin Khan b Waqar Younis11216-- 
TM Dilshanc Moin Khan b Shahid Afridi311021734- 
+RS Kaluwitharanarun out (Naved Ashraf)4229419- 
SI de Saramc Waqar Younis b Shahid Afridi522311- 
WPUJC Vaasnot out2559872- 
KR Pushpakumarac Moin Khan b Shoaib Akhtar12326-- 
GP Wickramasingheb Shoaib Akhtar032-- 
M Muralitharanc Irfan Fazil b Mohammad Akram1416223- 
Extras(10 b, 2 lb, 21 nb)33
Total(all out, 58.1 overs)227
Fall of wickets:
1-17 (Atapattu, 3.4 ov), 2-41 (Jayasuriya, 8.4 ov), 3-46 (Jayawardene, 11.4 ov), 4-100 (Arnold, 24.4 ov), 5-154 (Kaluwitharana, 32.2 ov), 6-164 (de Saram, 38.3 ov), 7-188 (Dilshan, 46.2 ov), 8-206 (Pushpakumara, 53.1 ov), 9-206 (Wickramasinghe, 53.4 ov), 10-227 (Muralitharan, 58.1 ov)
Pakistan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waqar Younis10   2392--
Shoaib Akhtar18   4523-4
Mohammad Akram14.12491-9
Irfan Fazil4   0351-4
Shahid Afridi12   3402-4

Pakistan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Naved Ashraflbw b Muralitharan2765993- 
Shahid Afridib Pushpakumara3459936- 
Ijaz Ahmedc Dilshan b Muralitharan32434-- 
Inzamam-ul-Haqc Wickramasinghe b Muralitharan138243335171 
Shoaib Akhtarlbw b Vaas04245-- 
Yousuf Youhanac Kaluwitharana b Pushpakumara1161851- 
Younis Khanc Kaluwitharana b Wickramasinghe6110413681 
*+Moin Khanc Arnold b Pushpakumara701051547- 
Waqar Younisc Dilshan b Muralitharan3910112941 
Irfan Fazilc Jayasuriya b Pushpakumara31219-- 
Mohammad Akramnot out166-- 
Extras(16 lb, 18 nb)34
Total(all out, 133.5 overs)421
Fall of wickets:
1-70 (Shahid Afridi, 18.3 ov), 2-70 (Naved Ashraf, 19.4 ov), 3-84 (Ijaz Ahmed, 27.3 ov), 4-106 (Shoaib Akhtar, 38.6 ov), 5-159 (Yousuf Youhana, 58.4 ov), 6-283 (Younis Khan, 91.5 ov), 7-320 (Inzamam-ul-Haq, 99.4 ov), 8-408 (Moin Khan, 129.4 ov), 9-419 (Waqar Younis, 132.2 ov), 10-421 (Irfan Fazil, 133.5 ov)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Vaas34   81071-9
Wickramasinghe26   7821-5
Muralitharan40   51074--
Jayasuriya9   1280--
Arnold4   0150--

Sri Lanka second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MS Atapattuc Moin Khan b Mohammad Akram2343624- 
*ST Jayasuriyalbw b Waqar Younis1011351- 
RP Arnoldc Moin Khan b Waqar Younis82132-- 
DPMD Jayawardeneb Irfan Fazil2941576- 
TM Dilshanrun out (Yousuf Youhana)514271- 
+RS Kaluwitharanab Shoaib Akhtar3332556- 
SI de Saramlbw b Shahid Afridi1828612- 
WPUJC Vaasc Shoaib Akhtar b Shahid Afridi2849625- 
KR Pushpakumarac Irfan Fazil b Shahid Afridi44456062 
GP Wickramasingherun out (sub [Imran Nazir])039-- 
M Muralitharannot out56171- 
Extras(1 b, 7 lb, 17 nb)25
Total(all out, 46 overs)228
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (Jayasuriya, 6.2 ov), 2-41 (Atapattu, 11.5 ov), 3-41 (Arnold, 12.4 ov), 4-59 (Dilshan, 17.6 ov), 5-86 (Jayawardene, 21.5 ov), 6-121 (Kaluwitharana, 26.6 ov), 7-145 (de Saram, 32.6 ov), 8-191 (Vaas, 39.5 ov), 9-199 (Wickramasinghe, 41.5 ov), 10-228 (Pushpakumara, 46 ov)
Pakistan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waqar Younis11   4322--
Shoaib Akhtar13   1641-1
Mohammad Akram10   1441-8
Irfan Fazil4   0301-4
Shahid Afridi8   1503-4

--> The match was scheduled for five days but completed in four.
--> Day 2 Lunch: Sri Lanka (1) 100/4
--> Day 4 Lunch: Sri Lanka (2) 37/1
--> Sri Lanka first innings: 100 in 24.3 overs
--> Shoaib Akhtar (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in Test matches
--> Shoaib Akhtar (1) passed his previous highest score of 23 in first-class matches
--> Irfan Fazil made his debut in Test matches
--> RS Kaluwitharana (1) passed 1500 runs in Test matches when he reached 28
--> Inzamam-ul-Haq (2) passed 4000 runs in Test matches when he reached 66
--> KR Pushpakumara (2) passed his previous highest score of 23 in Test matches
--> KR Pushpakumara (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in first-class matches
--> M Muralitharan reached 250 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed Naved Ashraf, his 1st wicket in the Pakistan second innings

New ball taken after 82 overs





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive