Sri Lanka v Australia
Aiwa Cup 1999
VenueGalle International Stadium, Galle on 22nd August 1999 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
ResultAustralia won by 50 runs (Duckworth/Lewis method)
PointsSri Lanka 0; Australia 2
UmpiresEAR de Silva, PT Manuel
TV umpireDN Pathirana
RefereeCW Smith
Man of the MatchJN Gillespie

Australia inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
+AC Gilchristrun out (Jayawardene->Kaluwitharana)2731511187.10
ME Waughc Chandana b Perera2833453-84.85
RT Pontingst Kaluwitharana b Jayasuriya38731083-52.05
DS Lehmannrun out (Vaas->Kaluwitharana)2640552-65.00
TM Moodyst Kaluwitharana b Jayasuriya61310--46.15
*SR Waughb Jayasuriya6751-85.71
MG Bevannot out4244603-95.45
A Symondsrun out (de Saram)8691-133.33
SK Warnec Chandana b Jayasuriya388--37.50
JN Gillespiest Kaluwitharana b Jayasuriya011--0.00
DW Flemingnot out4610--66.67
Extras(4 lb, 5 nb, 8 w)17
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 43 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-60 (ME Waugh, 10.2 ov), 2-62 (Gilchrist, 10.5 ov), 3-110 (Lehmann, 23.1 ov), 4-119 (Moody, 26.2 ov), 5-127 (SR Waugh, 28.3 ov), 6-160 (Ponting, 36.5 ov), 7-170 (Symonds, 39.2 ov), 8-182 (Warne, 40.3 ov), 9-183 (Gillespie, 40.5 ov)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Vaas9   061033-6.78
Zoysa8   23901--4.88
Perera7   02514142.003.57
Muralitharan9   0380---4.22
Jayasuriya9   0285--10.803.11
Chandana1   0100---10.00

Sri Lanka inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
*ST Jayasuriyac Moody b Fleming1610--16.67
DA Gunawardenec Gilchrist b Gillespie819231-42.11
MS Atapattub Gillespie51130--45.45
DPMD Jayawardenec SR Waugh b Gillespie7771-100.00
SI de Saramb Moody2431473-77.42
+RS Kaluwitharanac Gilchrist b Fleming3346564-71.74
UDU Chandanarun out (Lehmann)3048611-62.50
ASA Pererac Bevan b Warne2639452166.67
WPUJC Vaasnot out5916--55.56
DNT Zoysac Lehmann b Warne434--133.33
M Muralitharanc Ponting b Lehmann288--25.00
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 5 w)15
Total(all out, 37.4 overs)160
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Jayasuriya, 1.5 ov), 2-17 (Gunawardene, 4.5 ov), 3-25 (Jayawardene, 6.2 ov), 4-41 (Atapattu, 8.2 ov), 5-78 (de Saram, 17.3 ov), 6-98 (Kaluwitharana, 22.3 ov), 7-145 (Chandana, 33.6 ov), 8-149 (Perera, 34.2 ov), 9-154 (Zoysa, 34.6 ov), 10-160 (Muralitharan, 37.4 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Gillespie6   1263--12.004.33
Fleming9   04024-27.004.44
Warne9   13921-27.004.33
Moody7   1211--42.003.00

--> The match was reduced to 43 overs per side, Sri Lanka target was 211 runs
--> SI de Saram made his debut in ODI matches
--> A Symonds passed 2500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 2
--> ASA Perera passed his previous highest score of 17 in ODI matches
--> AC Gilchrist made his debut in Sri Lanka in ListA matches
--> AC Gilchrist made his debut in Sri Lanka in ODI matches
--> A Symonds made his debut in Sri Lanka in ListA matches
--> A Symonds made his debut in Sri Lanka in ODI matches
--> DNT Zoysa made his debut in Sri Lanka in ODI matches
--> JN Gillespie achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ODI matches when he dismissed MS Atapattu in the Sri Lanka innings (previous best was 2-39)

Rain stopped play from 11:54am to 1:20pm at the fall of Lehmann's wicket. Match reduced to 43 overs per side and the lunch break shortened to 20 minutes.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive