New Zealand v Sri Lanka
Singer Champions Trophy 1996/97
VenueSharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah on 7th November 1996 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
ResultNew Zealand won by 29 runs
PointsNew Zealand 2; Sri Lanka 0
UmpiresID Robinson, G Sharp
TV umpireSK Bansal
RefereeMJK Smith
Man of the MatchCL Cairns

New Zealand inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
CM Spearmanc Chandana b KSC de Silva3952593-75.00
NJ Astlec and b KSC de Silva0716--0.00
AC Parorelbw b Vaas024--0.00
SP Flemingc Tillakaratne b Vaas1718--14.29
CL Cairnsc Kaluwitharana b Chandana71911291478.02
MJ Greatbatchc and b Muralitharan2355521-41.82
CZ Harrisnot out346285--54.84
*+LK Germonc KSC de Silva b Vaas202427--83.33
DN Patelb Vaas011--0.00
SB Doullnot out132--33.33
DK Morrisondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 4 nb, 6 w)17
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 50 overs)206
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Astle), 2-7 (Parore), 3-25 (Fleming), 4-48 (Spearman), 5-92 (Greatbatch), 6-165 (Cairns), 7-205 (Germon), 8-205 (Patel)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Vaas9   12242-13.502.44
KSC de Silva8   13723-24.004.62
Dharmasena7   03101--4.43
Muralitharan10   0371--60.003.70
Jayasuriya7   0390---5.57
Chandana9   0331--54.003.67

Sri Lanka inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
ST Jayasuriyac Astle b Doull1513173-115.38
+RS Kaluwitharanalbw b Doull1627432-59.26
AP Gurusinhac Doull b Patel2763842-42.86
PA de Silvac Harris b Morrison47741073-63.51
*A Ranatungab Harris374--42.86
HP Tillakaratnec Doull b Morrison4177871153.25
UDU Chandanac Cairns b Harris41013--40.00
HDPK Dharmasenab Astle71411--50.00
WPUJC Vaasc Harris b Cairns122--50.00
M Muralitharanb Cairns3817--37.50
KSC de Silvanot out013--0.00
Extras(7 lb, 6 w)13
Total(all out, 49.1 overs)177
Fall of wickets:
1-23 (Jayasuriya), 2-40 (Kaluwitharana), 3-83 (Gurusinha), 4-88 (Ranatunga), 5-131 (PA de Silva), 6-142 (Chandana), 7-158 (Dharmasena), 8-162 (Vaas), 9-175 (Tillakaratne), 10-177 (Muralitharan)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Morrison9   0282--27.003.11
Doull7   12921-21.004.14
Astle6   12011-36.003.33
Patel10   22611-60.002.60
Harris8   0282--24.003.50

--> CM Spearman passed 1000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 5
--> DK Morrison reached 200 wickets in ListA matches when he dismissed PA de Silva, his 1st wicket in the Sri Lanka innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive