Karnataka v Rest of India
Irani Cup 1996/97
VenueM Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore on 21st, 22nd, 23rd, 24th September 1996 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossRest of India won the toss and decided to bat
ResultKarnataka won by 5 wickets
UmpiresBA Jamula, NN Menon
RefereeRC Saxena
Close of play day 1Karnataka (1) 40/1 (Arunkumar 21*, Vijay Bharadwaj 18*)
Close of play day 2Karnataka (1) 289/4 (Shashikanth 33*, Somasekhar 11*)
Close of play day 3Rest of India (2) 183/3 (Khoda 25*)

Rest of India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GK Khodac Somasekhar b Ganesh0     
*NS Sidhub Ganesh11     
VVS Laxmanc Vaidya b Ganesh0     
AV Kalec Vaidya b Ganesh3     
P Dharmanic Vijay Bharadwaj b Ganesh84113127101 
+SS Karimc Ganesh b Katti721752287- 
PL Mhambreyc Sriram b Katti9     
SLV Rajuc sub b Prasanth1     
H Ramkishenlbw b Ganesh5     
RL Sanghvinot out1     
ND Hirwanib Katti0     
Extras(5 b, 2 lb, 10 nb)17
Total(all out, 72.5 overs)203
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-7, 3-16, 4-27, 5-124, 6-159, 7-173, 8-201, 9-202, 10-203 (72.5 ov)
Karnataka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ganesh20   3846--
Somasunder11   4230--
Ananth19   5490--
Prasanth7   1171--

Karnataka first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SB Somasunderc Ramkishen b Mhambrey0     
J Arunkumarc Kale b Hirwani93170233113 
R Vijay Bharadwajc and b Hirwani93237280102 
K Sriramc Raju b Hirwani5414015922 
PV Shashikanthst Karim b Hirwani6918929181 
S Somasekharc Karim b Ramkishen19     
+AV Vaidyac Karim b Mhambrey8     
D Ganeshc Khoda b Hirwani9     
R Ananthlbw b Hirwani5     
A Kattic Khoda b Ramkishen0     
MV Prasanthnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 5 lb)6
Total(all out, 147.3 overs)356
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-165, 3-202, 4-271, 5-309, 6-328, 7-339, 8-349, 9-356, 10-356 (147.3 ov)
Rest of India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mhambrey28   6742--
Ramkishen18   7372--
Raju38   18690--
Sanghvi16   3410--

Rest of India second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AV Kalelbw b Ganesh3     
GK Khodalbw b Ganesh6712720541 
VVS Laxmanb Ganesh7810615615- 
P Dharmanib Vijay Bharadwaj7217021071 
+SS Karimlbw b Katti5     
PL Mhambreyb Ganesh1     
H Ramkishenb Ganesh0     
RL Sanghvinot out40     
ND Hirwanic Vijay Bharadwaj b Katti14     
*NS Sidhuabsent hurt
SLV Rajuabsent hurt
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(all out, 93.3 overs)288
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-134, 3-183, 4-202, 5-205, 6-205, 7-254, 8-288 (93.3 ov)
Karnataka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ganesh28   2895--
Somasunder4   1230--
Ananth25   6610--
Prasanth5   2200--
Vijay Bharadwaj4   1141--

Karnataka second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SB Somasunderc Karim b Hirwani4     
J Arunkumarc Mhambrey b Ramkishen10     
R Vijay Bharadwajc Karim b Mhambrey0     
K Sriramc Dharmani b Mhambrey28     
PV Shashikanthc Laxman b Hirwani5     
S Somasekharnot out6211112711- 
+AV Vaidyanot out22     
D Ganeshdid not bat      
R Ananthdid not bat      
A Kattidid not bat      
MV Prasanthdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb)8
Total(5 wickets, 60.4 overs)139
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-10, 3-44, 4-44, 5-57
Rest of India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mhambrey12   3392--
Ramkishen17   3221--
Hirwani21   11282--
Sanghvi7   3160--

--> The match was scheduled for five days but completed in four.
--> A Katti made his debut in first-class matches
--> MV Prasanth made his debut in first-class matches
--> S Somasekhar (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> D Ganesh achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Rest of India first innings (previous best was 4-12)
--> D Ganesh achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Rest of India first innings
--> GK Khoda retired hurt in the Rest of India second innings having scored 4 (team score 8/0) - he returned when the score was 134/2 (hit on the helmet visor by a Ganesh bouncer )

Day 1: Match started 30 minutes late because of damp outfield conditions due to overnight rains.
Kale was promoted because Sidhu has a dislocated finger.
Ganesh along with three Karnataka reserves have conjunctivitis.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive