Leicestershire v Surrey
County Championship 1903
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 4th, 5th, 6th June 1903 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 28 runs
PointsLeicestershire -1; Surrey 1
UmpiresW Richards, A White
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 134/6 (King 40*, Davis 4*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (2) 274/8 (Lees 67*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Abelc King b Gill0     
TW Haywardc King b Jayes41     
EG Hayesc Coe b King34     
WH Lockwoodb Jayes8     
FC Hollandc King b Jayes10     
DH Butcherc Whitehead b Coe5     
*L Walkerc RT Crawford b Gill18     
EHL Nicec Whitehead b Gill1     
WS Leesc VFS Crawford b Odell61     
+H Strudwickrun out0     
T Richardsonnot out20     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 6 nb)10
Total(all out, 64 overs)208
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-41, 3-69, 4-94, 5-99, 6-102, 7-114, 8-141, 9-153, 10-208 (64 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gill22   5633-6
RT Crawford5   1220--
King10   3201--
Jayes15   3453--
Odell8   3271--
Coe4   1211--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJB Woodc Richardson b Lockwood29     
H Whiteheadb Lockwood12     
AE Knightb Hayes25     
JH Kingc Lockwood b Richardson64     
RT Crawfordst Strudwick b Hayes2     
S Coec Strudwick b Hayes1     
*VFS Crawfordb Richardson5     
+AE Davisnot out25     
GC Gillc Nice b Richardson9     
WW Odellb Lockwood16     
T Jayesc Walker b Lees1     
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 77.3 overs)201
Fall of wickets:
1-39, 2-48, 3-105, 4-109, 5-111, 6-116, 7-158, 8-168, 9-200, 10-201 (77.3 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lockwood18   5603--
Richardson21   36431-
Nice9   4160--
Hayes11   4113--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Abelb Gill36     
TW Haywardc Davis b Gill30     
EG Hayesc Davis b Gill4     
WH Lockwoodc Whitehead b Gill53     
FC Hollandc Davis b Jayes5     
*L Walkerc and b Gill34     
DH Butcherc Davis b Jayes11     
WS Leesnot out75     
EHL Niceb Gill20     
+H Strudwickb Jayes1     
T Richardsonc Coe b Jayes5     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 12 nb)15
Total(all out, 86.3 overs)289
Fall of wickets:
1-50, 2-64, 3-86, 4-94, 5-161, 6-166, 7-213, 8-274, 9-275, 10-289 (86.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gill33   8976-12
King9   1280--
Odell19   3500--
Coe11   1560--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJB Woodc Strudwick b Lees1     
H Whiteheadb Richardson26     
AE Knightnot out131     
JH Kingc sub b Nice19     
S Coec Lockwood b Richardson18     
GC Gilllbw b Lees3     
*VFS Crawfordb Nice24     
+AE Davisc sub b Richardson29     
RT Crawfordc and b Richardson1     
WW Odellc Walker b Richardson7     
T Jayesb Richardson0     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 3 nb)9
Total(all out, 88.5 overs)268
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-268 (88.5 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lockwood8   1260--
Lees31   10842--
Nice14   3272-2
Hayward3   0140-1

--> DH Butcher made his debut in County Championship matches
--> JH King (1) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 36
--> JH King (1) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> AE Davis (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in County Championship matches
--> AE Davis (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> WW Odell (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> T Jayes made his debut in first-class matches
--> T Jayes made his debut in County Championship matches
--> WS Lees (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 38
--> AE Knight (2) passed 7500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 122
--> AE Davis (2) passed his previous highest score of 25 in first-class matches
--> AE Davis (2) passed his previous highest score of 25 in County Championship matches
--> T Richardson reached 2000 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive