Somerset v Essex
National Westminster Bank Trophy 1989 (1st Round)
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 28th, 29th June 1989 (60-over match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to field
ResultSomerset won by 55 runs
UmpiresDGL Evans, DJ Halfyard
Close of play day 1Somerset 24/2 (Roebuck 16*, Tavaré 2*)
Man of the MatchPM Roebuck

Somerset inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
SJ Cookc Pringle b Foster1      
PM Roebuckrun out102      
JJE Hardyc Prichard b Foster1      
CJ Tavarést Garnham b Miller101      
RJ Hardenc Garnham b Gooch0      
*VJ Marksnot out36      
AN Jonesc Hardie b Pringle7      
MW Clealnot out3      
+ND Burnsdid not bat      
HRJ Trumpdid not bat      
DJ Fosterdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 14 lb, 2 nb, 8 w)25
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 60 overs)276
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-14, 3-209, 4-210, 5-246, 6-262
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Lever12   1420--   -3.50
Foster12   1502--   36.004.17
Pringle12   1531--   72.004.42
Gooch11   1421--   66.003.82
Stephenson4   1220--   -5.50
Miller9   0521--   54.005.78

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
*GA Goochc Jones b Marks94      
BR Hardiec Marks b Jones7      
ME Waughc Cook b Jones0      
PJ Prichardc Hardy b Cleal17      
N Hussainlbw b Marks24      
JP Stephensonc Harden b Roebuck6      
DR Pringlec Trump b Marks4      
G Millerst Burns b Trump15      
+MA Garnhamc Burns b Trump18      
NA Fosterlbw b Jones7      
JK Levernot out3      
Extras(5 b, 9 lb, 2 nb, 10 w)26
Total(all out, 54.5 overs)221
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-24, 3-84, 4-130, 5-162, 6-168, 7-176, 8-210, 9-210, 10-221 (54.5 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Jones9.51323--   19.673.25
Foster7   0170--   -2.43
Cleal8   0421--   48.005.25
Trump12   0442--   36.003.67
Marks12   0383--   24.003.17
Roebuck6   0341--   36.005.67

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.
--> GA Gooch passed 15000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 3
--> AN Jones reached 150 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Essex innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive