London County v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other First-Class matches in England 1900
VenueCrystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace on 23rd, 24th, 25th August 1900 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLondon County won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 2 wickets
UmpiresRO Clayton, VA Titchmarsh
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2London County (2) 47/2 (WG Grace sen 24*)

London County first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WG Grace senlbw b Cranfield22     
WG Quaifeb Thompson0     
WL Murdochb Thompson34     
LC Braundc Tindall b Thompson23     
+AFA Lilleyb Cranfield7     
WG Grace junlbw b Cranfield9     
EHS Berridgec Storer b Cranfield0     
J Gilmannot out12     
NSA Harrisonc Handford b Cranfield18     
CB Gracec Storer b Thompson0     
EF Fieldb Cranfield6     
Extras(5 b, 2 lb)7
Total(all out, 41.2 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-138 (41.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thompson21   5514--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Tindalllbw b Braund1     
W Attewellrun out15     
GJ Thompsonb Field15     
W Storerc Harrison b WG Grace sen38     
HJ Hillc Lilley b Braund29     
*ET Pereirac WG Grace jun b Braund7     
HJ Wyldb Braund18     
AI Conan Doylec Lilley b Field4     
CE Rodriguezb Braund0     
A Handfordb Braund5     
B Cranfieldnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb)3
Total(all out, 46.5 overs)135
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-135 (46.5 ov)
London County bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Braund23   8566--
WG Grace sen4   181--

London County second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*WG Grace senc Storer b Conan Doyle110     
+AFA Lilleyb Thompson13     
WG Grace junc Pereira b Cranfield10     
WG Quaifeb Cranfield5     
J Gilmanc Pereira b Cranfield36     
LC Braundnot out2     
WL Murdochdid not bat      
EHS Berridgedid not bat      
NSA Harrisondid not bat      
CB Gracedid not bat      
EF Fielddid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 1 nb)7
Total(5 wickets, declared, 58.1 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-47, 3-64, 4-165, 5-183 (58.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thompson19   6351-1
Cranfield21   4763--
Handford8   3200--
Storer8   0410--
Conan Doyle2.1141--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Tindallc Lilley b Field48     
W Attewellc Quaife b Braund9     
GJ Thompsonc Braund b Field14     
W Storerc Lilley b Field5     
HJ Hillb Field54     
*ET Pereiralbw b Braund29     
HJ Wyldb Field0     
AI Conan Doylec Gilman b Braund0     
CE Rodrigueznot out1     
A Handfordnot out24     
B Cranfielddid not bat      
Extras(6 lb)6
Total(8 wickets, 47.2 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-101, 5-161, 6-?, 7-?, 8-175
London County bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Field24   21105--

--> AFA Lilley (1) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> EHS Berridge made his debut in first-class matches
--> NSA Harrison (1) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> HJ Hill made his debut in first-class matches
--> AI Conan Doyle made his debut in first-class matches
--> CE Rodriguez made his debut in first-class matches
--> WG Grace (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 14
--> WG Grace (2) passed 50000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 54
--> A Handford (2) equalled his previous highest score of 24 in first-class matches
--> LC Braund reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings

Rain caused delay on the final day and Marylebone Cricket Club won only after W.G.Grace had agreed to carry on after the agreed closing time. Ten extra minutes were required for Marylebone Cricket Club to win. Grace's 110 took 155 minutes and included 15 fours. He completed 1,000 runs for the season. Conan Doyle's dismissal of W.G.Grace was his only first-class wicket; he wrote a long poem describing it





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive