Tasmania v Victoria
Other First-Class matches in Australia 1898/99
VenueTasmania Cricket Association Ground, Hobart on 26th, 27th, 28th, 30th January 1899 (timeless match)
Balls per over5
TossTasmania won the toss and decided to bat
ResultTasmania won by 365 runs
UmpiresCW Butler, S Morris
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 7/0 (Carter 3*, Carlton 2*)
Close of play day 2Tasmania (2) 89/0 (Savigny 40*, Burn 45*)
Close of play day 3Victoria (2) 66/4 (Sutherland 15*)

Tasmania first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Savignyb Maplestone4     
CJ Eadyb Murray92     
RJ Hawsonc Hastings b Maplestone40     
EAC Windsorlbw b Murray27     
*EJK Burnc Tarrant b Murray5     
+GH Gatehouseb Tarrant1     
NR Westbrookc Fox b Murray47     
C McAllenb Murray18     
GD Patonc and b Murray7     
WG Wardnot out97     
N Doddsc Hetherington b Carter36     
Total(all out, 94.3 overs)384
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-98, 3-167, 4-173, 5-174, 6-176, 7-220, 8-230, 9-262, 10-384 (94.3 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tarrant32   7811--
Maplestone15   3562--
Fox13   2520--
Murray27   11456--
Carlton3   0170--
Mailer2   0140--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AS Carterc Savigny b Windsor28     
W Carltonnot out73     
D Mailerb Windsor0     
HC Maplestoneb Eady1     
D Sutherlandb Eady20     
AW Murrayb Eady13     
HF Hetheringtonc Ward b Eady12     
WW Armstrongb Eady6     
AHN Foxb Ward34     
*+TJ Hastingsb Eady3     
FA Tarrantb Eady7     
Total(all out, 65.2 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-51, 3-52, 4-76, 5-96, 6-120, 7-130, 8-196, 9-199, 10-211 (65.2 ov)
Tasmania bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Windsor26   2992--
Dodds4   2100--
Ward3   0221--

Tasmania second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Savignyc Hetherington b Armstrong60     
*EJK Burnc Tarrant b Murray119     
CJ Eadyst Hastings b Murray31     
RJ Hawsonc Sutherland b Murray9     
EAC Windsorc and b Tarrant69     
NR Westbrooklbw b Armstrong11     
WG Wardc Mailer b Fox15     
+GH Gatehouselbw b Armstrong0     
C McAllennot out20     
N Doddslbw b Armstrong0     
GD Patonb Murray10     
Total(all out, 110 overs)369
Fall of wickets:
1-145, 2-216, 3-228, 4-236, 5-267, 6-315, 7-323, 8-343, 9-354, 10-369 (110 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tarrant21   1601--
Maplestone15   4490--
Fox23   4691--
Carter5   270--
Murray19   2814--
Armstrong27   7784--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AS Carterc +Dodds b Eady15     
W Carltonrun out14     
D Mailerb Eady11     
AHN Foxb Ward7     
D Sutherlandc +Dodds b Windsor54     
AW Murrayc Ward b Eady5     
WW Armstrongb Ward33     
HF Hetheringtonc and b Eady5     
HC Maplestonec sub b Eady12     
*+TJ Hastingsst +Dodds b Windsor9     
FA Tarrantnot out0     
Total(all out, 46 overs)177
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-39, 3-44, 4-66, 5-73, 6-146, 7-146, 8-158, 9-168, 10-177 (46 ov)
Tasmania bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Eady22   5635--
Windsor22   1982--
Ward2   142--

--> RJ Hawson made his debut in first-class matches
--> NR Westbrook (1) passed his previous highest score of 32 in first-class matches
--> GD Paton made his debut in first-class matches
--> WG Ward (1) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> N Dodds made his debut in first-class matches
--> AS Carter made his debut in first-class matches
--> W Carlton made his debut in first-class matches
--> D Mailer made his debut in first-class matches
--> HF Hetherington made his debut in first-class matches
--> WW Armstrong made his debut in first-class matches
--> AHN Fox made his debut in first-class matches
--> FA Tarrant made his debut in first-class matches
--> JH Savigny (2) passed his previous highest score of 37 in first-class matches
--> EAC Windsor (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 61
--> EJK Burn (2) passed his previous highest score of 88 in first-class matches
--> D Sutherland (2) passed his previous highest score of 29 in first-class matches
--> AW Murray achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Tasmania first innings (previous best was 0-13)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive