Leicestershire v Northamptonshire
National Westminster Bank Trophy 1981 (Quarter-Final)
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 5th August 1981 (60-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won on faster scoring rate (Run rate)
UmpiresA Jepson, AGT Whitehead
Man of the MatchW Larkins

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
JC Balderstonelbw b TM Lamb19      
NE Briersc Cook b Griffiths2      
DI Gowerc Sarfraz Nawaz b TM Lamb13      
BF Davisonb Willey67      
*RW Tolchardc Williams b Sarfraz Nawaz70      
+MA Garnhamc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz24      
AME Robertsc AJ Lamb b Griffiths2      
PB Cliftc Larkins b Griffiths2      
JF Steeleb Mallender3      
GJ Parsonsc Williams b Mallender2      
LB Taylornot out0      
Extras(1 b, 11 lb, 8 nb, 3 w)23
Total(all out, 59.4 overs)227
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-32, 3-73, 4-148, 5-212, 6-216, 7-217, 8-224, 9-227, 10-227 (59.4 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Sarfraz Nawaz12   2382--   36.003.17
Griffiths12   0513--   24.004.25
TM Lamb12   3432--   36.003.58
Mallender11.41262--   35.002.23
Willey12   0461--   72.003.83

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
W Larkinsnot out81      
*G Cookc Balderstone b Parsons63      
RG Williamsc Gower b Taylor1      
AJ Lambc Garnham b Taylor6      
P Willeyc Tolchard b Taylor46      
TJ Yardleynot out0      
+G Sharpdid not bat      
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
NA Mallenderdid not bat      
TM Lambdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)10
Total(4 wickets, 50.5 overs)207
Fall of wickets:
1-139, 2-140, 3-150, 4-207
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Roberts12   2440--   -3.67
Parsons10   0431--   60.004.30
Clift12   0530--   -4.42
Taylor10.52393--   21.673.60
Steele6   0180--   -3.00

--> When play was halted Northamptonshire needed to have scored 193 runs to win
--> MA Garnham passed 500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 24





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive