Somerset v Leicestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 16th, 18th, 19th August 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultLeicestershire won by 157 runs
PointsSomerset 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Leicestershire 19 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresWE Alley, PSG Stevens
Close of play day 1Somerset (1) 73/3 (Richards 47*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 146/1 (Steele 45*, Cook 6*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steelelbw b Gore4      
JC Balderstoneb Gore33      
DI Gowerc Richards b Dredge94      
*BF Davisonb Dredge42      
NE Brierslbw b Dredge0      
+RW Tolchardc Richards b Gore25      
PB Cliftc Richards b Dredge59      
GJ Parsonsb Popplewell1      
JP Agnewc Roebuck b Gore1      
NGB Cooknot out3      
LB Taylorb Dredge0      
Extras(2 lb, 3 nb)5
Total(all out, 88.3 overs)267
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-100, 3-170, 4-170, 5-177, 6-234, 7-235, 8-243, 9-267, 10-267 (88.3 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gore22   8424--
Popplewell17   5571--
Richards7   0280--
Marks11   3300--
Lloyds12   1550--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Olivec Clift b Taylor15      
PM Roebuckc Tolchard b Agnew4      
IVA Richardsc Parsons b Clift75      
CH Dredgeb Cook1      
PW Denningc Tolchard b Clift31      
*IT Bothamc Balderstone b Clift41      
VJ Markslbw b Clift0      
JW Lloydslbw b Clift1      
NFM Popplewellc Tolchard b Agnew32      
+DJS Taylorb Cook59      
HEI Gorenot out22      
Extras(9 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)14
Total(all out, 102.1 overs)295
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-66, 3-73, 4-126, 5-133, 6-137, 7-139, 8-178, 9-238, 10-295 (102.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Agnew12   2562--
Parsons10   0390--
Taylor11   2361--
Steele12   5180--
Clift20   5495--
Balderstone1   100--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steelec Richards b Dredge66      
JC Balderstoneb Marks87      
NGB Cookc Dredge b Marks75      
DI Gowerc Popplewell b Marks2      
*BF Davisonnot out72      
NE Briersnot out17      
+RW Tolcharddid not bat      
PB Cliftdid not bat      
GJ Parsonsdid not bat      
JP Agnewdid not bat      
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(4 wickets, declared, 92 overs)329
Fall of wickets:
1-139, 2-192, 3-201, 4-276
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gore15   2440--
Dredge24   6561--
Marks21   2903--
Lloyds25   5720--
Roebuck5   0320--
Botham2   0250--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PM Roebuckst Tolchard b Cook32      
PW Denningc Clift b Agnew2      
IVA Richardsc Davison b Agnew25      
*IT Bothamc Clift b Cook24      
VJ Marksc Gower b Cook0      
NFM Popplewellc Clift b Cook1      
JW Lloydsb Clift19      
+DJS Taylorc Tolchard b Clift26      
M Olivelbw b Cook1      
CH Dredgec Davison b Clift9      
HEI Gorenot out4      
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 45.3 overs)144
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-34, 3-76, 4-78, 5-82, 6-88, 7-116, 8-131, 9-131, 10-144 (45.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Agnew4   0252--
Parsons3   0280--
Taylor2   0210--
Cook19   6305--
Steele8   2150--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Somerset score at 100 overs in the first innings was 292-9
--> DI Gower (1) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> IT Botham (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 38
--> JC Balderstone (2) passed 11500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 77
--> NGB Cook (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in first-class matches
--> NGB Cook (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in County Championship matches
--> IVA Richards (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 14
--> NGB Cook reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Somerset first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive