Oxford University v AJ Webbe's XI
University Match 1897
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 24th, 25th, 26th May 1897 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossOxford University won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOxford University won by 5 wickets
UmpiresD Eastwood, E Holland
Close of play day 1AJ Webbe's XI (1) 39/1 (Hayman 21*, Mason 14*)
Close of play day 2AJ Webbe's XI (2) 297 all out

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GR Bardswellc Mason b O'Halloran2     
FL Fanec Philipson b Woods39     
GE Bromley-Martinc Bromley-Davenport b Woods56     
RE Fosterb O'Halloran53     
FH Bateman-Champainb O'Halloran26     
A Ecclesc Crawley b Woods102     
TB Hendersonc Mason b Rawlin19     
EC Wrightc Crawley b Woods28     
PS Waddyc O'Halloran b Woods4     
FHE Cunliffec O'Halloran b Woods3     
+RW Foxnot out4     
Extras(19 b, 2 w)21
Total(all out, 119.4 overs)357
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-98, 3-116, 4-190, 5-190, 6-251, 7-325, 8-349, 9-350, 10-357 (119.4 ov)
AJ Webbe's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
O'Halloran38   7923--
Bromley-Davenport20   5580--
Rawlin19   5451--
Mason1   100--
Warner1   030--

AJ Webbe's XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PF Warnerc Waddy b Wright4     
HB Haymanb Cunliffe49     
JR Masonc Fox b Waddy55     
JT Rawlinc Bardswell b Cunliffe0     
JP O'Halloranc Bardswell b Waddy33     
AS Crawleylbw b Cunliffe12     
SMJ Woodsc Bromley-Martin b Waddy1     
HR Bromley-Davenportst Fox b Waddy4     
*AJ Webbeb Cunliffe4     
GF Vernonnot out19     
+H Philipsonb Cunliffe39     
Extras(1 b, 1 nb)2
Total(all out, 75 overs)222
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-108, 3-108, 4-108, 5-141, 6-144, 7-156, 8-159, 9-163, 10-222 (75 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cunliffe30   8905--
Wright18   3531--
Henderson8   1140--
Waddy19   6634--

AJ Webbe's XI second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
PF Warnerc and b Cunliffe3     
HB Haymanb Cunliffe4     
JR Masonc Bardswell b Waddy41     
JT Rawlinb Wright48     
JP O'Halloranc and b Waddy13     
AS Crawleyst Fox b Waddy2     
SMJ Woodsc Henderson b Cunliffe23     
HR Bromley-Davenportc Bateman-Champain b Bardswell87     
*AJ Webbec Cunliffe b Henderson14     
GF Vernonc sub b Cunliffe13     
+H Philipsonnot out25     
Extras(22 b, 1 lb, 1 w)24
Total(all out, 77.2 overs)297
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-19, 3-87, 4-113, 5-125, 6-125, 7-160, 8-198, 9-237, 10-297 (77.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cunliffe27   3944--
Wright24   5761--
Henderson8   1321--
Waddy15   4573--
Bateman-Champain2   080--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FL Fanec Bromley-Davenport b Woods14     
FH Bateman-Champainc Philipson b Rawlin64     
GE Bromley-Martinb Rawlin23     
RE Fosterb O'Halloran8     
*GR Bardswellc Woods b O'Halloran2     
A Ecclesnot out30     
TB Hendersonnot out18     
EC Wrightdid not bat      
PS Waddydid not bat      
FHE Cunliffedid not bat      
+RW Foxdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(5 wickets, 58.1 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-87, 3-110, 4-110, 5-120
AJ Webbe's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bromley-Davenport5   1190--
Woods11   4321--
Rawlin20   3392--

--> GE Bromley-Martin made his debut in first-class matches
--> RE Foster made his debut in first-class matches
--> TB Henderson made his debut in first-class matches
--> AS Crawley made his debut in first-class matches
--> A Eccles (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> EC Wright (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in first-class matches
--> FH Bateman-Champain (2) passed his previous highest score of 53 in first-class matches
--> FH Bateman-Champain made his debut for Oxford University in first-class matches
--> EC Wright made his debut for Oxford University in first-class matches
--> JP O'Halloran achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 2-21)
--> FHE Cunliffe reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the AJ Webbe's XI second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive