Derbyshire v Surrey
Other First-Class matches in England 1894
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 16th, 17th, 18th July 1894 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresGR Atkinson, L Hall
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Surrey (1) 242/3 (Abel 112*, JM Read 74*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Abelc Sugg b Bagshaw122      
GW Ayresc Malthouse b Davidson8      
DLA Jephsonc Walker b Sugg13      
W Brockwellb Davidson22      
JM Readc Storer b Bagshaw84      
AE Streetb Davidson23      
TW Haywardnot out31      
*WW Readc Marsden b Davidson6      
FE Smithc Davidson b Bagshaw3      
+C Marshallc Sugg b Davidson6      
T Richardsonc and b Bagshaw0      
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 5 w)13
Total(all out, 191 overs)331
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-54, 3-109, 4-258, 5-269, 6-289, 7-313, 8-320, 9-331, 10-331 (191 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davidson77   451005--
Walker42   17740--
Chatterton16   2420--
Sugg11   4171--
Malthouse17   7260--
Delacombe4   0170--
Bagshaw24   1424--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LG Wrightc Marshall b Richardson0      
S Malthouseb Richardson6      
H Bagshawc WW Read b Smith28      
W Chattertonnot out28      
+W Storerb Smith0      
GA Davidsonst Marshall b Smith10      
W Suggc and b Richardson2      
A Widdowsonb Smith1      
GA Marsdenb Richardson6      
WB Delacombeb Richardson0      
*GG Walkerc WW Read b Smith5      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb)3
Total(all out, 51.1 overs)89
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-23, 3-43, 4-43, 5-49, 6-61, 7-66, 8-?, 9-?, 10-89 (51.1 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Richardson26   6525--

--> R Abel (1) passed 12000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 56
--> A Widdowson made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> A Widdowson made his debut in first-class matches
--> WB Delacombe made his debut in first-class matches
--> H Bagshaw achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Surrey first innings (previous best was 2-9)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive