Hampshire v Surrey
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueUnited Services Ground, Portsmouth on 11th, 13th, 14th August 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 10 wickets
PointsHampshire 5 (Batting 2, Bowling 3); Surrey 19 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJVC Griffiths, DO Oslear
ScorersJ Hill (Surrey), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 42/1 (Clinton 15*, Knight 12*; 26 overs)
Close of play day 2Surrey (1) 303 all out

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgeb Pocock39     
JM Ricec Roope b Jackman15     
DR Turnerc Knight b Pocock9     
DJ Rockc Clinton b Pocock5     
NGC Cowleyc Roope b Pocock9     
VP Terryc and b Intikhab Alam19     
MNS Taylorc sub b Pocock53     
*+GR Stephensonc Howarth b Pocock13     
MJ Baileyc Clinton b Pocock15     
MD Marshallc Roope b Pocock9     
K Stevensonnot out0     
Extras(3 b, 10 lb, 6 nb, 2 w)21
Total(all out, 92.3 overs)207
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-69, 3-76, 4-81, 5-106, 6-128, 7-147, 8-187, 9-202, 10-207 (92.3 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackman17   8241--
Wilson12   4310--
Smith5   1210--
Intikhab Alam21   7491--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherc Greenidge b Marshall12     
GS Clintonb Bailey24     
*RDV Knightc Rock b Bailey27     
GP Howarthnot out109     
GRJ Roopec Rice b Marshall13     
DM Smithrun out25     
RD Jackmanb Cowley0     
Intikhab Alamc Stephenson b Stevenson52     
+CJ Richardsc Rice b Taylor11     
PI Pocockc and b Taylor10     
PHL Wilsonc Stephenson b Stevenson0     
Extras(2 b, 13 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)20
Total(all out, 105.3 overs)303
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-63, 3-73, 4-118, 5-156, 6-157, 7-261, 8-264, 9-300, 10-303 (105.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall25   7632--
Cowley38   11731--
Bailey19   1652--
Taylor6   0292--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CG Greenidgec Knight b Jackman18     
JM Ricec Knight b Pocock27     
DR Turnerc Clinton b Pocock0     
DJ Rockc Richards b Jackman14     
NGC Cowleyc Richards b Jackman21     
VP Terryb Pocock7     
MNS Taylorc Roope b Wilson13     
MJ Baileyst Richards b Pocock24     
*+GR Stephensonc Richards b Jackman14     
MD Marshallb Pocock0     
K Stevensonnot out0     
Extras(8 b, 9 lb, 2 nb)19
Total(all out, 76.2 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-47, 2-47, 3-48, 4-93, 5-104, 6-110, 7-128, 8-153, 9-157, 10-157 (76.2 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackman22   9454--
Wilson11   2211--
Intikhab Alam9   760--
Howarth1   050--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butchernot out39     
GS Clintonnot out18     
*RDV Knightdid not bat      
GP Howarthdid not bat      
GRJ Roopedid not bat      
DM Smithdid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
Intikhab Alamdid not bat      
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
PHL Wilsondid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)5
Total(no wicket, 24.2 overs)62
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall3   230--
Stevenson2   090--
Cowley6   2120--
Turner4   290--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Surrey score at 100 overs in the first innings was 283-7
--> GS Clinton (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> Intikhab Alam (1) passed 13500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> JM Rice (2) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 21
--> MJ Bailey (2) passed his previous highest score of 19 in first-class matches
--> MJ Bailey (2) passed his previous highest score of 19 in County Championship matches
--> PI Pocock reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 7th wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> RD Jackman reached 1100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Hampshire second innings
--> PI Pocock reached 1250 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Hampshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive