Northamptonshire v Sussex
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 28th, 30th, 31st July 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 1 wicket
PointsNorthamptonshire 20 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Sussex 3 (Bowling 3)
UmpiresBJ Meyer, KE Palmer
Close of play day 1Sussex (1) 8/1 (Barclay 6*, Mendis 0*; 4 overs)
Close of play day 2Sussex (2) 132/3 (Parker 45*, Imran Khan 43*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookb Barclay100     
W Larkinslbw b Phillipson29     
RG Williamslbw b Phillipson0     
P Willeyb Waller68     
TJ Yardleyb Arnold13     
IM Richardsc Waller b Barclay25     
+G Sharpc Long b Waller14     
RM Carternot out14     
Sarfraz Nawazc Parker b Waller5     
TM Lambnot out13     
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 11 lb, 4 nb, 3 w)22
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)303
Fall of wickets:
1-77, 2-77, 3-178, 4-203, 5-236, 6-266, 7-270, 8-282
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan8   0310--
Arnold19   7301--
Spencer4   1180--
Waller31   71043--
Phillipson4   1112--
Barclay34   4872--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KC Wesselslbw b Sarfraz Nawaz0     
JRT Barclayc Cook b Williams21     
GD Mendisc Cook b Sarfraz Nawaz34     
PWG Parkerc Carter b Williams8     
Imran Khanst Sharp b Williams0     
PJ Graveslbw b Williams3     
CP Phillipsonb Willey17     
GG Arnoldb Willey6     
*+A Longnot out17     
J Spencerc Carter b Williams12     
CE Wallerb Willey8     
Extras(9 b, 6 lb, 5 nb)20
Total(all out, 80.4 overs)146
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-42, 3-58, 4-58, 5-78, 6-78, 7-88, 8-102, 9-120, 10-146 (80.4 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz12   952--
Griffiths3   1120--
Williams34   11575--

Sussex second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
KC Wesselsc Richards b Williams15     
JRT Barclayb Griffiths0     
GD Mendisc Williams b Willey22     
PWG Parkerb Williams103     
Imran Khanc Lamb b Willey43     
PJ Gravesc Larkins b Willey0     
CP Phillipsonc Sarfraz Nawaz b Willey18     
GG Arnoldc Yardley b Williams0     
*+A Longnot out14     
J Spencerb Williams0     
CE Wallerc Larkins b Willey2     
Extras(10 b, 7 lb, 6 nb)23
Total(all out, 82.1 overs)240
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-33, 3-49, 4-141, 5-157, 6-200, 7-202, 8-222, 9-227, 10-240 (82.1 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz15   5300--
Griffiths12   1401--
Williams24   9804--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookc Graves b Arnold13     
W Larkinsc and b Arnold0     
RG Williamslbw b Arnold11     
P Willeyc Barclay b Waller0     
TJ Yardleyb Barclay16     
IM Richardsc Parker b Barclay4     
+G Sharpc Wessels b Imran Khan10     
RM Carterc Wessels b Waller1     
Sarfraz Nawazc Barclay b Waller12     
TM Lambnot out6     
BJ Griffithsnot out2     
Extras(6 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)9
Total(9 wickets, 35.3 overs)84
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-21, 3-27, 4-33, 5-50, 6-51, 7-57, 8-71, 9-78
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan3.30171--
Arnold7   4173--
Waller15   7203--
Barclay10   4212--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> G Cook (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 64
--> P Willey (1) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 7
--> KC Wessels (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 9
--> TJ Yardley (2) passed 6000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9
--> CE Waller reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> RG Williams achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Sussex first innings (previous best was 4-48)
--> RG Williams achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Sussex first innings (previous best was 4-48)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive