Leicestershire v Nottinghamshire
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 23rd, 25th, 26th June 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 3 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 19 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Nottinghamshire 5 (Batting 2, Bowling 3)
UmpiresR Julian, JG Langridge
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 85/4 (Schepens 13*, Tolchard 16*; 30 overs)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 83/3 (French 1*, Birch 0*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Harrisc Tolchard b Higgs15     
PA Toddb Steele80     
*MJ Smedleyc Shuttleworth b Clift13     
CEB Ricec Higgs b Shuttleworth33     
JD Birchc Clift b Balderstone59     
HT Tunnicliffelbw b Shuttleworth1     
EE Hemmingsc and b Steele2     
RJ Hadleec Higgs b Steele8     
+BN Frenchlbw b Balderstone16     
PJ Hackerc Higgs b Cook5     
MK Borenot out4     
Extras(4 lb, 3 w)7
Total(all out, 81.5 overs)243
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-50, 3-145, 4-147, 5-150, 6-159, 7-173, 8-212, 9-231, 10-243 (81.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higgs10   2421--
Shuttleworth26   7602--
Clift12   2361--
Cook10   1461--
Steele19   6393--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steelec Harris b Hadlee18     
NE Briersc French b Rice0     
B Dudlestonlbw b Rice0     
BF Davisonc Hadlee b Hacker46     
JC Balderstoneb Hacker4     
M Schepensretired hurt14     
+RW Tolchardc Tunnicliffe b Hacker85     
PB Cliftlbw b Rice12     
K Shuttleworthb Rice38     
NGB Cooknot out18     
*K Higgsnot out5     
Extras(9 b, 13 lb, 7 nb, 1 w)30
Total(8 wickets, declared, 108.5 overs)270
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-4, 3-36, 4-59, 5-123, 6-176, 7-234, 8-252
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rice20   3544--
Hacker15   4473--
Hemmings21   6430--
Bore23   9430--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Harrislbw b Balderstone23     
PA Toddb Steele48     
*MJ Smedleyc Shuttleworth b Balderstone5     
+BN Frenchrun out41     
JD Birchc Higgs b Steele16     
CEB Ricec Tolchard b Dudleston9     
HT Tunnicliffeb Cook0     
RJ Hadleec sub b Dudleston5     
EE Hemmingsb Dudleston6     
PJ Hackerb Balderstone9     
MK Borenot out0     
Extras(4 b, 12 lb, 1 nb)17
Total(all out, 85.4 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-66, 2-82, 3-82, 4-102, 5-123, 6-126, 7-133, 8-155, 9-178, 10-179 (85.4 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higgs8   4110--
Shuttleworth10   2140--
Clift2   080--
Cook8   3151--
Steele25   6512--
Dudleston13   5253--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steeleb Hadlee2     
NE Briersb Hadlee0     
B Dudlestonc Rice b Hemmings23     
BF Davisonc Harris b Hemmings42     
JC Balderstoneb Hemmings31     
+RW Tolchardlbw b Hadlee0     
PB Cliftc Smedley b Bore22     
K Shuttleworthnot out18     
NGB Cooknot out4     
M Schepensdid not bat      
*K Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 11 lb, 1 w)14
Total(7 wickets, 63.3 overs)156
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-6, 3-60, 4-85, 5-86, 6-132, 7-132
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee13   0423--
Rice10   1250--
Hemmings23   5313--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> JD Birch (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 24
--> BN French (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> RW Tolchard (1) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 11
--> BN French (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in County Championship matches
--> BF Davison (2) passed 11000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 42
--> CEB Rice reached 200 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> BF Davison retired hurt in the Leicestershire first innings having scored 29 (team had lost 3 wickets) - he returned when the score was 123/5
--> M Schepens retired hurt in the Leicestershire first innings having scored 14 (team had lost 4 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive