Somerset v Kent
Benson and Hedges Cup 1978 (Semi-Final)
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 21st, 22nd, 23rd June 1978 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to field
ResultKent won by 41 runs
UmpiresWL Budd, TW Spencer
Close of play day 1Kent 149/5 (Ealham 11*, Rowe 2*; 41.2 overs)
Close of play day 2Somerset 33/1 (Denning 15*, Richards 9*; 13 overs)
Man of the MatchCJ Tavaré

Kent inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
RA Woolmerc Taylor b Jennings23     
GW Johnsonc Taylor b Moseley5     
CJ Tavaréc Burgess b Jennings56     
Asif Iqbalc Richards b Botham28     
*AGE Ealhamb Dredge12     
JN Shepherdc Taylor b Botham10     
CJC Rowec Botham b Moseley17     
CS Cowdreynot out12     
+PR Downtonlbw b Botham9     
DL Underwoodnot out9     
KBS Jarvisdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 13 lb, 1 nb, 4 w)23
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)204
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-41, 3-118, 4-121, 5-135, 6-154, 7-172, 8-186
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Botham11   1393--22.003.55
Moseley11   3232--33.002.09
Burgess11   4320---2.91
Jennings11   0442--33.004.00
Dredge11   2431--66.003.91

Somerset inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
PW Denningc Ealham b Asif Iqbal44     
PA Slocombelbw b Jarvis7     
IVA Richardsc Ealham b Woolmer9     
MJ Kitchenc Downton b Woolmer7     
IT Bothamc Downton b Asif Iqbal15     
*BC Roseb Shepherd48     
GI Burgessst Downton b Underwood3     
+DJS Taylorb Asif Iqbal10     
CH Dredgerun out5     
KF Jenningsnot out2     
HR Moseleyb Shepherd0     
Extras(2 b, 9 lb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 51.2 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-33, 3-43, 4-59, 5-100, 6-117, 7-132, 8-156, 9-163, 10-163 (51.2 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Jarvis9   2291--54.003.22
Woolmer11   4252--33.002.27
Underwood11   2271--66.002.45
Asif Iqbal9   0493--18.005.44
Johnson2   040---2.00

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to three.
--> DL Underwood reached 300 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Somerset innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive