Northamptonshire v Sussex
John Player League 1978
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 21st May 1978 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSussex won by 11 runs
PointsNorthamptonshire 0; Sussex 4
UmpiresR Aspinall, J van Geloven

Sussex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
JRT Barclayb Hodgson6     
GD Mendisrun out18     
Imran Khanc Hodgson b Watts70     
JJ Groomec and b Watts13     
MA Bussb Hodgson14     
CP Phillipsonnot out37     
KB Smithc Yardley b Hodgson6     
*+A Longc Sharp b Griffiths10     
J Spencernot out1     
ACS Pigottdid not bat      
RGL Cheatledid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 3 lb, 1 nb, 6 w)15
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 40 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-55, 3-102, 4-131, 5-140, 6-154, 7-181
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Hodgson8   0483--16.006.00
Griffiths8   0401--48.005.00
TM Lamb8   0450---5.62
Willey8   0190---2.38
Watts8   1232--24.002.88

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
G Cookc Cheatle b Buss13     
P Willeyc Cheatle b Phillipson23     
AJ Lambb Imran Khan31     
W Larkinsb Barclay25     
TJ Yardleyc Buss b Cheatle21     
DS Steelenot out22     
*PJ Wattsc Long b Spencer8     
+G Sharpc Pigott b Spencer14     
TM Lambnot out0     
A Hodgsondid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 8 w)22
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 40 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-42, 3-88, 4-128, 5-133, 6-146, 7-175
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Imran Khan8   0301--48.003.75
Spencer8   2362--24.004.50
Phillipson4   1181--24.004.50
Buss4   1231--24.005.75
Cheatle8   0251--48.003.12
Barclay8   0251--48.003.12

--> KB Smith made his last appearance in ListA matches
--> JJ Groome passed 500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 9
--> CP Phillipson passed his previous highest score of 21 in ListA matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive