Oxford University v Warwickshire
University Match 1974
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 1st, 2nd May 1974 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWarwickshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWarwickshire won by 135 runs
UmpiresR Aspinall, R Julian
ScorersCWC Grove (Warwickshire), T Woofenden (Oxford University)
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 20/3 (Waller 5*, Jarrett 0*)

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Jamesonc Imran Khan b Fursdon115     
RN Abberleyb Imran Khan22     
AI Kallicharranc Jarrett b Imran Khan6     
MJK Smithc Fisher b Siviter36     
*AC Smithnot out34     
+GW Humpagedid not bat      
EE Hemmingsdid not bat      
WA Bournedid not bat      
DJ Browndid not bat      
RGD Willisdid not bat      
PJ Lewingtondid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 3 nb)8
Total(4 wickets, declared, 57.3 overs)221
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-106, 3-161, 4-221 (57.3 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan22   2922--
Fursdon22   6631--
Botton7   1320--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SR Northcote-Greenc Bourne b AC Smith7     
+PB Fisherc Humpage b Brown0     
NK Howickc MJK Smith b Brown8     
*Imran Khanb AC Smith0     
GD Wallerc Bourne b Brown29     
DW Jarrettc Humpage b Bourne51     
PR Thackerayc Humpage b Brown1     
ED Fursdonb Bourne0     
MJD Stallibrassc Humpage b Bourne0     
ND Bottonc MJK Smith b Willis7     
K Siviternot out2     
Extras(1 b, 4 lb)5
Total(all out, 52 overs)110
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-15, 3-20, 4-100, 5-100, 6-100, 7-101, 8-101, 9-101, 10-110 (52 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willis14   4341--
Brown17   1364--
AC Smith4   292--
Lewington8   2250--
Bourne9   2313--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RN Abberleyc Thackeray b Imran Khan22     
JA Jamesonc Jarrett b Siviter4     
AI Kallicharranc Waller b Fursdon22     
MJK Smithc Waller b Imran Khan10     
+GW Humpagec Howick b Siviter13     
EE Hemmingsc Fisher b Imran Khan4     
WA Bournec Fisher b Siviter16     
*AC Smithc Stallibrass b Imran Khan8     
DJ Brownc Northcote-Green b Imran Khan4     
RGD Willisnot out0     
PJ Lewingtondid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb)5
Total(9 wickets, declared, 35.4 overs)108
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-50, 3-52, 4-66, 5-72, 6-92, 7-103, 8-106, 9-108 (35.4 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan17.44565--
Siviter8   1243--
Fursdon10   2231--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SR Northcote-Greenlbw b Brown0     
+PB Fisherc MJK Smith b Willis0     
NK Howickc Jameson b Brown3     
*Imran Khanc Abberley b Brown2     
GD Wallerc Hemmings b Willis0     
DW Jarrettc Humpage b Brown6     
PR Thackerayb Willis0     
ED Fursdonc MJK Smith b Willis0     
MJD Stallibrassb Bourne4     
ND Bottonnot out38     
K Siviterc Hemmings b AC Smith26     
Extras(5 b)5
Total(all out, 30 overs)84
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-4, 4-5, 5-5, 6-5, 7-11, 8-11, 9-39, 10-84 (30 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willis9   594--
Brown11   4264--
AC Smith4   1171--
Bourne5   1271--
Hemmings1   100--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> MJK Smith (1) passed 38000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> GW Humpage made his debut in first-class matches
--> GD Waller (1) equalled his previous highest score of 29 in first-class matches
--> DW Jarrett made his debut in first-class matches
--> K Siviter made his debut in first-class matches
--> ND Botton (2) passed his previous highest score of 26 in first-class matches
--> WA Bourne achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 2-54)
--> DJ Brown reached 850 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Oxford University first innings
--> PB Fisher retired hurt in the Oxford University first innings having scored 0 (team score 3/0) - he returned when the score was 100/5





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive