Transvaal v Eastern Province
SAB Currie Cup 1972/73 (Section A)
VenueNew Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 10th, 11th, 13th November 1972 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossTransvaal won the toss and decided to field
ResultTransvaal won by 9 wickets
PointsTransvaal 20 (Batting 6, Bowling 4); Eastern Province 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresHC Kidson, D Reichman
Close of play day 1
Close of play day 2

Eastern Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SJ Bezuidenhoutc Becker b Neilson44      
KJ Bondc Irvine b Neilson34      
*AL Wilmotlbw b Neilson19      
KS McEwanc Irvine b Neilson4      
CP Wilkinsc Irvine b Rice0      
DJ Brickettlbw b Rice15      
KP Reidb Neilson0      
HC Pittawaynot out21      
+AC Galpinc de Vaal b Bath56      
E Schmidtc Neilson b Muzzell2      
JCJ Dyenot out0      
Extras(4 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)9
Total(9 wickets, declared, 67.3 overs)204
Fall of wickets:
1-73, 2-79, 3-83, 4-83, 5-125, 6-125, 7-125, 8-196, 9-198
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Becker4   0160--
Mackay-Coghill10   4290--
Kerr10   2450--
de Vaal8   1200--
Neilson16   4445--
Rice17   7312--
Muzzell1   021--

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BF Bathrun out11      
NG Featherstonec Wilmot b Dye11      
*A Bacherc Schmidt b Pittaway18      
+BL Irvinec Galpin b Dye193      
RK Muzzellc Galpin b Pittaway9      
PD de Vaalc Galpin b Wilkins1      
CEB Riceb Wilkins0      
DR Neilsonrun out67      
WR Kerrc Galpin b Schmidt18      
D Mackay-Coghillnot out6      
DF Beckerlbw b Dye7      
Extras(6 b, 13 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)21
Total(all out, 95.2 overs)362
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-24, 3-61, 4-82, 5-95, 6-97, 7-251, 8-348, 9-348, 10-362 (95.2 ov)
Eastern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Schmidt21   3731--
Pittaway25   9852--
Wilkins16   1812--
Brickett11   1430--

Eastern Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SJ Bezuidenhoutc Irvine b Mackay-Coghill4      
KJ Bondc and b Rice44      
*AL Wilmotc Irvine b Mackay-Coghill0      
KS McEwanc Neilson b Mackay-Coghill24      
CP Wilkinslbw b Becker6      
DJ Brickettc Kerr b Mackay-Coghill3      
KP Reidb de Vaal16      
HC Pittawayb de Vaal5      
+AC Galpinc and b Mackay-Coghill81      
E Schmidtb Neilson14      
JCJ Dyenot out2      
Extras(5 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)10
Total(all out, 60.3 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-26, 3-79, 4-79, 5-85, 6-85, 7-103, 8-130, 9-190, 10-209 (60.3 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Becker7   0301--
Kerr4   1100--
de Vaal9   2602--
Neilson8   0191--
Rice6   3101--
Bath5   2110--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BF Bathb Schmidt5      
NG Featherstonenot out21      
RK Muzzellnot out25      
*A Bacherdid not bat      
+BL Irvinedid not bat      
PD de Vaaldid not bat      
CEB Ricedid not bat      
DR Neilsondid not bat      
WR Kerrdid not bat      
D Mackay-Coghilldid not bat      
DF Beckerdid not bat      
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(1 wicket, 19.2 overs)53
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Bath)
Eastern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Schmidt8   1211--
Dye1   030--
Wilmot2   020--

--> KS McEwan made his debut in first-class matches
--> AC Galpin (1) passed his previous highest score of 29 in first-class matches
--> BL Irvine (1) passed his previous highest score of 172 in first-class matches
--> DR Neilson (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> AC Galpin (2) passed his previous highest score of 56 in first-class matches
--> E Schmidt (2) passed his previous highest score of 13 in first-class matches
--> CP Wilkins made his debut for Eastern Province in first-class matches
--> JCJ Dye made his debut for Eastern Province in first-class matches
--> JCJ Dye made his debut in South Africa in first-class matches
--> DR Neilson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Eastern Province first innings (previous best was 4-74)
--> DR Neilson achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Eastern Province first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive