Northamptonshire v Worcestershire
County Championship 1972
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 29th, 30th July, 1st August 1972 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNorthamptonshire 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2); Worcestershire 4 (Bowling 4)
UmpiresHD Bird, AE Fagg
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 18/0 (Headley 14*, Turner 3*; 2 overs)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (1) 143/4 (Ormrod 14*, Stimpson 0*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Taitc Stimpson b Gifford54     
BS Crumpc Gifford b Holder6     
DS Steelec Ormrod b Gifford5     
Mushtaq Mohammadc Turner b Gifford40     
W Larkinsc Ormrod b Gifford0     
*PJ Wattsc Gifford b Wilkinson58     
P Willeylbw b Holder38     
+G Sharplbw b Wilkinson0     
RMH Cottamlbw b Wilkinson9     
BS Bedic Wilkinson b Holder40     
JCJ Dyenot out29     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 6 nb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 100.4 overs)288
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-66, 3-71, 4-78, 5-143, 6-184, 7-184, 8-204, 9-222, 10-288 (100.4 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pridgeon6   0500--
Gifford36   6714--
Wilkinson30   5713--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RGA Headleyc Sharp b Dye92     
GM Turnerb Bedi14     
JM Parkerc Mushtaq Mohammad b Dye16     
JA Ormrodnot out14     
TJ Yardleyc Sharp b Dye1     
PJ Stimpsonnot out0     
KW Wilkinsondid not bat      
+HG Wilcockdid not bat      
*N Gifforddid not bat      
VA Holderdid not bat      
AP Pridgeondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 4 nb)6
Total(4 wickets, 52 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-118, 3-128, 4-130
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cottam10   2340--
Dye17   6483--
Bedi19   12301--
Willey6   1250--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> BS Bedi (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in County Championship matches
--> JCJ Dye (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in first-class matches
--> JCJ Dye (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in County Championship matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive