Northamptonshire v Worcestershire
Benson and Hedges Cup 1972 (Midland Group)
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 13th, 15th, 16th May 1972 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWorcestershire won by 8 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 0; Worcestershire 3
UmpiresDJ Constant, GH Pope
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Worcestershire 40/2 (Headley 18*, Ormrod 2*; 22 overs)
Man of the MatchRGA Headley

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
G Cookb D'Oliveira13     
A Taitrun out51     
DS Steelec Gifford b D'Oliveira3     
Mushtaq Mohammadc Ormrod b D'Oliveira6     
*PJ Wattsc Yardley b Gifford30     
P Willeyrun out25     
BS Crumprun out3     
+G Sharpnot out17     
RR Baileyc Gifford b Holder3     
BS Bedidid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)11
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)162
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-38, 3-44, 4-108, 5-111, 6-120, 7-158, 8-162 (55 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Holder11   1441--66.004.00
Carter11   1400---3.64
Griffith11   2250---2.27
D'Oliveira11   5133--22.001.18
Gifford11   1291--66.002.64

Worcestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
RGA Headleyrun out71     
GM Turnerc Cook b Bailey8     
PJ Stimpsonretired hurt1     
JA Ormrodnot out63     
BL D'Oliveiranot out10     
TJ Yardleydid not bat      
K Griffithdid not bat      
+HG Wilcockdid not bat      
*N Gifforddid not bat      
VA Holderdid not bat      
RGM Carterdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 1 w)10
Total(2 wickets, 51.5 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-143
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Dye10   2330---3.30
Bailey11   4121--66.001.09
Watts3   0180---6.00
Bedi11   2320---2.91
Crump8   1260---3.25

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to three.
--> A Tait passed his previous highest score of 19 in ListA matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive