Sussex v Kent
County Championship 1971
VenueThe Saffrons, Eastbourne on 11th, 12th, 13th August 1971 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSussex won by 2 runs
PointsSussex 18 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Kent 6 (Batting 4, Bowling 2)
UmpiresA Jepson, JG Langridge
Close of play day 1Sussex (1) 294 all out
Close of play day 2Kent (1) 146/6 (Asif Iqbal 24*, Johnson 0*)

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Bussc Knott b Graham4      
GA Greenidgec Luckhurst b Dye12      
RM Prideauxb Underwood50      
+JM Parkslbw b Dye15      
AW Greigc Denness b Graham113      
PJ Gravesb Underwood30      
*MG Griffithc Denness b Dye16      
JA Snowc Shepherd b Dye20      
A Bussc Johnson b Graham0      
J Spencerc Asif Iqbal b Graham11      
UC Joshinot out2      
Extras(14 lb, 6 nb, 1 w)21
Total(all out, 99.2 overs)294
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-24, 3-66, 4-151, 5-216, 6-256, 7-276, 8-276, 9-280, 10-294 (99.2 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dye24   7684--
Shepherd23   9550--
Asif Iqbal9   1420--
Underwood16   4412--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BW Luckhurstb MA Buss48      
D Nichollsc Parks b A Buss5      
*MH Dennessc Spencer b Greig18      
AGE Ealhamb MA Buss34      
Asif Iqbalc Prideaux b Spencer72      
+APE Knottc MA Buss b A Buss0      
JN Shepherdb A Buss8      
GW Johnsonlbw b Spencer39      
DL Underwoodc Greig b Spencer4      
JCJ Dyenot out6      
JN Grahamnot out4      
Extras(5 lb, 6 nb, 1 w)12
Total(9 wickets, declared, 79 overs)250
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-47, 3-91, 4-100, 5-122, 6-140, 7-218, 8-237, 9-240
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snow10   0330--
A Buss29   7883--
Greig19   4521--
Spencer10   2313--
MA Buss11   0342--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Busslbw b Luckhurst36      
GA Greenidgec Luckhurst b Underwood4      
RM Prideauxc Knott b Luckhurst5      
+JM Parksc Denness b Luckhurst10      
AW Greigc Shepherd b Luckhurst34      
PJ Gravesst Knott b Ealham23      
*MG Griffithnot out36      
JA Snownot out16      
A Bussdid not bat      
J Spencerdid not bat      
UC Joshidid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)10
Total(6 wickets, declared, 45.1 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-43, 3-48, 4-61, 5-104, 6-132
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dye3   220--
Underwood8   4191--
Luckhurst14   3714--
Johnson10   5300--
Ealham4   0331--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BW Luckhurstb Greig61      
D Nichollsc Graves b Joshi12      
*MH Dennessretired hurt71      
AGE Ealhamc Greenidge b Greig10      
+APE Knottb Greig4      
Asif Iqbalc and b Greig5      
JN Shepherdc Parks b Spencer32      
GW Johnsonb Greig9      
DL Underwoodc A Buss b Spencer0      
JCJ Dyenot out2      
JN Grahamb Greig2      
Extras(7 lb, 1 nb)8
Total(all out, 36.5 overs)216
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-120, 3-140, 4-155, 5-169, 6-189, 7-211, 8-211, 9-216 (36.5 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snow6   1210--
A Buss3   0230--
Spencer7   1472--
MA Buss3   0220--
Joshi8   0531--

--> GA Greenidge (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 10
--> AW Greig (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 108
--> AGE Ealham (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 10
--> Asif Iqbal (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 41
--> MG Griffith (2) passed 7000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> MH Denness (2) passed 13500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 40
--> JN Graham reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 4th wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> BW Luckhurst reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Sussex second innings
--> UC Joshi reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Kent second innings
--> MH Denness retired hurt in the Kent second innings having scored 71 (team score 160/4)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive